Book Reviews

2017 BR #47: Jay’s Journal

Jays Journal

Jay’s Journal

by Anonymous

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

GR 3 star

add-to-goodreads-button


So I feel extremely bad/weird about giving this book 3 starts. But I really don’t feel it deserves more than that. I have read other books by Anonymous, such as Go Ask Alice and Letting Ana Go and really enjoyed those. This book was just on a different level than I was expecting and that probably has a lot to do with my rating.

Since this book is so short, my review for it probably will be a well.

This book is focused around an occult, which I was not expecting. Not even in the slightest. Maybe if I would have been prepared for that, I would have enjoyed it a little bit more. There’s also some focus on a drug and alcohol addiction, but that’s not the main premise of the story.

The occult stuff was super weird for me and I couldn’t fathom how such a young boy could fall into that kind of situation. The things they were doing was just so bizarre to me that I had a really hard time wrapping my head around it. It just seemed a little far fetched, but these stories are always based on a real persons diary. So that’s why I feel guilty about my thoughts on this one.

Like who am I to put a rating on someone else’s life, someone else’s personal thoughts, someone else’s personal struggles, someone else’s diary. It just feels so off to me. But for the purposes of this review, I gave a rating based on my enjoyment of the story. Don’t get me wrong I was completely entranced with the story as you can see from my Goodreads progress below, I read the book in like a day.

But there was just something that didn’t settle right with me about this. Come to think of it, maybe that’s the point. It’s supposed to be unsettling. 

The ending is always extremely sad and very abrupt, as these stories always end in death. It breaks my heart for these people that are in the situations, but I enjoy reading them so I can widen my outlook on the things that take place in the world.

I really enjoyed the note from Jay’s mother explaining why she wanted her son’s diary to be published in the same format as Alice’s was. 

I will continue to read the other books like this by Anonymous and the ones by Beatrice Sparks who compiles the Anonymous books.


Have you read any of the Anonymous books? Or more specifically Jay’s Journal? What were your thoughts or them? Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to hear what you think of Jay’s Journal compared to some of the other ones if you have read them!

New Sign off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews

15 thoughts on “2017 BR #47: Jay’s Journal

  1. I read this and Go Ask Alice and didn’t find out until later that they are NOT real journals. It made me upset to learn that. I seriously thought that both were legit and that this happened to this kid when it didn’t.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Nope. Google it. I’m so disappointed bc I was led to believe they were real. I read Jay’s Journal after Go Ask Alive (those were the only two when I was younger), and it has come to light that the “editor” wrote them.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

