Book Reviews

2017 BR #44: Cursed (eARC)

Cursed

Cursed

(The Price of Magic #1)

by Freya Black

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

GR 5 star

add-to-goodreads-button


PRAISE THEE QUEEN FREYA (and her alter ego) FOR PULLING ME OUT OF THE DREADED READING SLUMP! This book was ahhh-freaking-mazing! Awesome start to a new YA urban fantasy series. I am completely hooked and I need the next book in the series right gosh darn now!

For Freya’s debut novel, this was so well done and the world building was so well thought out. I really, really enjoyed learning about this fantastical world and the magic system. Plus, look at the cover. GORGEOUS!

I seriously cannot think of one bad thing about this book. I was captivated from page 1 all the way to the end. It was just that good. If you like fantasy or you are even remotely interested, you should definitely pick this one up!

I became attached to the characters so quickly. Like I didn’t even realize I was until something extremely dramatic happened and I was literally holding my breathe because I just couldn’t deal.

If you don’t normally stop and read my Goodreads reading progress (which are always inserted below– PS let me know if I should move them up higher) then you definitely should read this one! I went through all the feels with this book and stopped to post them on my progress. So you can literally see my emotional rollercoaster!

Fiona was amazing. Kate was amazing. Declan was amazing. Sloane was sexy and amazing. Quinn was amazing. EVERYONE WAS AMAZING! These characters just.. I have no words! Can I be y’alls friend too! Just welcome me into the Inner Circle! 

If love triangles aren’t really your thing, there is slightly, kinda one in this book. Not really. I’m not even sure if you would consider it one or not. I do. Kind of. But it’s not really. lol Idk how to explain it. It’s like one doesn’t even have a chance so it can’t really be a triangle. IDK, read it and tell me what you think! HAHA! Can you tell I’m super confused about this? I really don’t want it to be a triangle because I cant even decided who’s side I would be on and normally I’m team underdog!

There were so many twists and turns throughout this book, I never knew what to expect. There was a major twist at the end regarding Fiona’s mom and dad and I was just like.. wait.. what? *loudly sobs* 

I was obviously very invested in this story and the characters. It was so great! I think  I could rave about it forever, but then spoilers might come out and I don’t want that so I’ll stop while I’m ahead and just tell you to pick up a copy for yourself!

WAS THIS EVEN A REVIEW? LOL I feel like I just raved and couldn’t even form coherent sentences. It was just a bunch of jumbled words. So I’m sorry if this wasn’t helpful at all. I really did try. 


Were you lucky enough to received an eARC of this? Will you be adding it to your TBR? Did my review convince you to read this? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews

One thought on “2017 BR #44: Cursed (eARC)

Leave a Reply

