Book Reviews

2017 BR #41: Guilty (eARC)

Guilty

Guilty

by Laura Elliot

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

GR 3 star

add-to-goodreads-button


This book releases June 22, 2017

Laura Elliot is a very loved author from what I can tell. She has published several other books, but this was my first experience with her books. To be honest, I am completely torn about this one!

I originally requested this because 1- its by Bookouture and I request pretty much everything they publish and 2- the cover is freaking gorgeous! I love how the balloon stands out. That being said I went into this book with no expectation other than bookouture publishes some awesome thrillers!

So this book is basically about a 13 year old girl named Constance that mysteriously goes missing one night and the fall out from all of that. Everyone looks to place the blame on someone else, family turns again family, lovers turn against lovers, and lives are ruined

Sounds like a drama filled thriller right? Well that’s what about half of it was. The other half was kind of like but why? I was completely entranced with the first half of the book. Literally parts one and two were SO FREAKING GOOD! So I had high expectations for the rest of the book. But it kind of took a turn that I wasn’t expecting nor could I really see the relevance of it. 

If you look at my reading progress from Goodreads, which I have inserted below, you can see my frustration with the latter part of the book. If I’m being honest, I’m still reasoning through it as I write this review.

If I were giving a rating for Parts One and Two of the book it would for sure be 5 stars! But the second half of the book just drug the rating down for me. I was really disappointed with it. I think it had a ton of potential to do more with the story.

I will say that Part Three was the worst part of the book and Part Four did pick up a fair amount. Not enough to redeem the book however. It really took me a while to figure out what the purpose of the second half of the book was, but it was the most epic revenge/karma story. It just wasn’t executed to it’s highest potential, in my opinion.

I did really enjoy the story, my heart really broke for Karl, Constance’s uncle. His life was ripped to shreds and unnecessarily so. Every last thing in his life was taken from him to the point he ended up homeless. In some ways I feel like his downfall was a little exaggerated, but I see why it needed to be done. 

The reporter that was responsible for Karl’s ruin definitely got what was coming to her. This chick was a walking cliche and I really disliked her character throughout the whole story. I never felt bad for her one time and I probably should have since she experiences a nightmare that no one would wish on anyone (See me trying to avoid spoilers here?). But I just found myself thinking “see there, that’s what you get!”

After writing this review, I guess I did enjoy this book a little more than I originally felt. The last part of the book just seemed to drag on. I wasn’t expecting a revenge story is what it boils down to I suppose. I wanted it to elaborate on the missing child aspect and it kind of flew through that. But overall it was a decent read!


I would like to give a special thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for sending me an eARC in exchange for my completely honest review!


Have you read this book or any others by Laura Elliot? If so what were your thoughts? If you read Guilty, did you feel the same way I did about the second half of the book? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews

2 thoughts on “2017 BR #41: Guilty (eARC)

Leave a Reply

