Book Reviews

2017 BR #40: Lie to Me (eARC)

Lie to Me

Lie to Me

by Jess Ryder

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

GR 4 star

add-to-goodreads-button


This was Jess Ryder’s debut novel and it was completely intriguing. The story telling was absolutely wonderful! It was kind of a slow burn, but I was completely captivated from pretty much page 1!

In order for you to fully understand my review, I’ll need to summarize the story for you. Which if you normally read my reviews, you know that I don’t really do often unless it’s crucial to understanding what I need to say about it. So, of course I will avoid spoilers as much as possible. 

This book follows a woman named Meredith (Meri) who has very splotchy memories of her childhood until she finds a video tape recording of a very troublesome interaction with her mother. In this video, Meri is forced to give details and names about the gruesome murder of Cara that occurred at Darkwater Pool years ago. It alternates perspectives with a man who has been accused of murdering Cara, but acquitted. Then there’s the twist of how the heck is Meri’s mother Becca entangled with all of this?!

What I enjoyed the most about this book was that the story telling tried to get you to believe that one person was responsible for murdering Cara, all the while I was completely accusing someone else in my head. But the big reveal of who ACTUALLY killed Cara was completely unexpected and took me by surprise! It was amazing how Jess Ryder was able to not give any hints about the big reveal!

I mentioned earlier that this is definitely a slow burn type of thriller. I had no issues with this, I thought it played well into the tension of the story. A lot of the book was spent scene setting in my opinion. Like you knew the basic premise of the story, but it just took until the end of the book to reveal the details instead of getting little snippets of details throughout the story. I think this played into the surprise of who the murder was even more!

I should also note that I really enjoyed the story building and the relationship development of the characters. I completely didn’t even realize it was a slow burn until I saw another review of this book and was like yeah, it was. 

This book had some heavy underlying issues that were prevalent and crucial to the story line. We saw the definition of a toxic relationship, addiction, violence, unrequited love, and so much more. I know you’re probably thinking “well duh, there’s murder in the synopsis” but I wasn’t expecting to see some of these other aspects in the story.

In my opinion, this book was a very solid debut for Jess Ryder and I cannot wait to read her next book The Good Sister which is set to release on August 16, 2017. Not to mention that the cover is freaking gorgeous and the synopsis on Goodreads has me wanting to read it right now! I’m expecting big things from Jess since her debut was this good!

The Good Sister.jpg


I would like to say thank you to Bookouture and Netgalley for this eARC in exchange for my completely honest review!


Did you have a chance to read this awesome debut yet? Do you plan to add it to you TBR? Are you excited about The Good Sister? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews

Leave a Reply

