Book Reviews

2017 BR #37: Sex in the Sticks (eARC)

sex-in-the-woods

Sex in the Sticks

(Love Hurts #1)

Sawyer Bennett

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

 GR 4 star

add-to-goodreads-button


Sawyer Bennett is a relatively new author for me. This is only the second book of hers that I have read. The first was Sugar Daddy (Sugar Bowl #1) which I really enjoyed. So when I requested this book on Netgalley and got approved for it, I was super excited! I mean come on! Love freaking hurts and who wouldn’t want to read a series like that?

Going into this book I didn’t have very many expectations. All I knew was the guy on the cover was freaking gorgeous and so my type. Since I’m from the South, I also assumed that “Sex in the Sticks” meant it was going to be a super country story.

Unfortunately I was let down in both of these aspects. The description of the guy in the book doesn’t match the guy on the front, but I preferred to picture him like on the cover anyways. Also, this book was set in Alaska. No where near the “country” atmosphere that I was expecting. Sadly.

Even though what initially interested me in the book didn’t turn out to be true, I still really really enjoyed this story. So much so though I have signed up to participate in the blog tour for the second book in the series called Jilted. This will be a series of standalones, if that makes any sense.

The most entertaining part of the book was reading about Valentine’s prissy, NYC elite self vacationing in Alaska. She had no idea what she was signing up for when she let her cousin plan this vacation. Luckily for her, she had a sexy sheriff (who was also extremely single) there to show her the ropes. And by ropes I mean, save her life a few times and earn a very “special reward”.

If you’ve read any of Sawyer Bennett’s books, then you already know she can write a heck of a sex scene and we get quite a few of them in this book as well. I really enjoyed the fact that there was enough light-hearted scenes to balance the very sexy scenes. It was a very nice balance. 

As with every romance story there is a big falling out between Valentine and Logan. But it was not anything like I was expecting. I grew extremely frustrated with both of their stubbornness and unwillingness to let it go! Seriously, the reason they had a falling out was so stupid! I figured Logan would be able to get over that. To be honest, I knew that’s what the falling out would be over. BUT I didn’t expect Logan to react the way he did. I was literally screaming at him to GET OVER IT ALREADY!

I was so strongly team Val and Logan that I did not like them being apart! But everything turned out just the way it should have (in my opinion at least). They are so cute together! I loved reading their story!

The more I read this review, I keep thinking to myself “then why do you feel it only deserves 4 stars” because all I’ve done is pretty much rave about how great this book was. If you look at my reading progress below, you will see it took me nearly TWO WEEKS to read this book. It NEVER, EVER takes me that long to read a book. I was really struggling with this book at first. I really want to blame it on having a book hangover from the two wonderful book I read previous to this one, but I’m just not sure.

This book and the story was seriously great and I’m so thankful I had the opportunity to read it. (And I already have a eARC of Jilted that I get to dive into next month!!!)


Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers of Sex in the Sticks, Random House Publishing Group Loveswept, for allowing me the opportunity to read and review this book before it released in exchange for my completely honest review!


As I mentioned above, the next book in the Love Hurts series is Jilted

jilted


Did you read this book? If so, what were your thoughts? If not, do you plan on adding it to your TBR? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

2 thoughts on “2017 BR #37: Sex in the Sticks (eARC)

  1. I haven’t read it yet but I’m looking forward to reading it! I have a thing for Alaska… weird I know, I think it’s because of the Men in Trees tv series with Anne Heche (it aired like 10 years ago or something). Anyway, great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

