Book Reviews

Sex Therapy by Jillian Quinn (eARC)

Sex Therapy

(City of Sinners #2)

by Jillian Quinn

PBT Review #72

Click here to purchase your copy from Amazon

GR 3 star

add-to-goodreads-button


This is the second novella in the City of Sinners series. The first book is Teach, which I really loved! I know Jill is going to hate me for this review, but this book just fell flat for me and I’m so so sad to admit that.

I was completely captivated by Jackson and Chloe’s story. I loved the dirty doctor being a sex addict! I loved the taboo aspect of this and that Chloe was so submissive to Jackson. This book had so much potential. I think had it been as long as Teach was, this book would have been another 5 star read for me!

I did really enjoy reading this novella though. I literally sat down and read it in like an hour or two. I just couldn’t put it down! It was captivating!

There were 2 things I really didn’t like about this book. The first is the length. I KNOW it’s a novella and therefore it being extremely short is pretty typical. But I just don’t feel like there was enough time to flesh out everything in it’s entirety. I feel like some things were rushed and somethings weren’t expanded upon enough. Since I know Jill personally, I also know the struggle she had with this. It just seemed like Teach was a lot longer and had more substance to it and I was looking for that from Sex Therapy as well.

The other thing I really didn’t like was the fact that supposedly Chloe was the only woman that Jackson had ever loved, but I did not get the vibe from him at all. I know it’s tough to balance love and sex addiction. But I just didn’t get a sense that the loved her at any point throughout the novella, which was a little disappointing for me personally.

Now the sex scenes were HOT HOT HOT, per usual. The chemistry between Chloe and Jackson was amazing! The banter between the two of them was awesome! I loved them both as characters so much! I’m just not sure I loved them together. If that makes sense.

Also, Jackson and Chloe’s back story was wonderful, I really loved it! I also loved the events that unfolded in the beginning of the story that led Chloe back into Jackson’s arms. There was A LOT to love about this story, so please don’t let the things I thought it was lacking deter you from reading this because it is an awesome read!

I was so excited that I got to see Olivia and the mention of Mark in this story, both of whom are from Teach! I love that Jill has her characters make an appearance in her following novels! I always get so happy when I see them again! They are like long lost friends that I get to catch up with again!

The next novella in the City of Sinners series is Judge and I am so freaking excited to read the next one! But for now I’m going to be swooning over Donovan because I am so anxious to get my hands on the next pucking hottie in the Face-off series!

Side note: I will get my review up of Teach soon! I beta read it for Jill and haven’t had a chance to read the FC yet. So stay tuned for that!


Thanks so much to Jill for sending me an ARC of this in exchange for my completely honest review!


Have you read Sex Therapy? Did you share any of my same sentiments? Did I completely miss something here? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

3 thoughts on “Sex Therapy by Jillian Quinn (eARC)

Leave a Reply

