Book Reviews

2017 BR #34: The Breakdown (eARC)

The Breakdown

The Breakdown

by BA Paris

Click here to buy your copy from Amazon

GR 5 star

add-to-goodreads-button


First thing I want to mention is that since I got an eARC of this book, I didn’t have a cover to take a beautiful picture of. So the one above is just from Goodreads.

The second thing I want to say is that this book 

Releases July 18, 2017

Third thing is that this book/ BA Paris deserves a standing ovation for this book. Seriously BRAVO, WELL FREAKING DONE! This book deserves more than 5 stars because it was just that good!

Now on to the reviewing and not just the raving about this book. 

I went into this book with very, very high expectations as I had heard WONDERFUL things about Behind Closed Doors, her debut novel. So I just knew this one was going to be great as well. Boy was I blown out of the water! It was so much better than I was expecting and I seriously devoured this book.

To be honest, I’ve been in a book hangover almost ever since I finished it. 

With all of that being said, I’ve still heard BCD is so much better than this one, so I’m extremely excited to read that was as well. All I can say is that BA Paris is seriously setting some high bars for herself!

The main character is Cass and she has a history of dementia in her family. This is very important to the plot of the story. Her husband Matthew is a very loving and supportive ally in her life. Her best friend Rachel is also very supportive of her. Jane is a new found friend of Cass’ before something terrible happens to her. These 4 characters are very entangled in a web of lies and messes that you will NEVER EXPECT!

I’m not really sure how to go about reviewing this without spoilers, but I will do my very best!

The story starts with Cass driving home during a really bad storm and taking a road that is very dangerous during the weather conditions she was driving in. She passes a car that has come to a complete stop in the middle of the road and stops to see if they might need some help. Due to the storm she doesn’t get out of the car and with no response from the person in the car she continues on home. This is the basis to her life spinning out of control.

The guilt she feels completely takes over her life when she finds out the person in the car was brutally murdered. This book is very THRILLING from start to finish. We have mysterious phone calls, break ins, the loss of Cass’ sense of security, and basically her whole world falling apart!

And because my followers know I like to give them one word/ phrase things to peak their interest for the story, here’s one for this book. The life changing cell phone!

I felt extremely sorry for Cass throughout the whole story. Even more so when everything is brought to light in the end. I was not expecting things to turn out the way that they did, but that just made the story so much better! I could not have pictured I better plot twist or ending for this book.

I was really suspicious of Matthew from the very beginning. But not in the way I should have been. Well I guess in a sense my suspicions were right, so I won’t say what they were. BUT they were definitely but on the back burner compared to what actually happened!

This book was jam packed full of thrilling events, I literally couldn’t stop reading it. I was staying up super late trying to get as much read as possible even though I had to wake up form work super early the next morning. I’m telling you it was just so good!

I will definitely be recommending this to others AND buying myself a physical copy soon!


I would just like to say thank you to Netgalley and the publisher’s of The Breakdown, St. Martin’s Press, for approving me for an eARC of this book in exchange for my completely honest review.


Have you read this book yet or do you plan to add it to your TBR? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

13 thoughts on “2017 BR #34: The Breakdown (eARC)

    1. Thats not true! They just may have given out all the ARCs they were allowed to already. Because I’ve only been on NG since September and I’ve only reviewed 16 books or so. So you’re doing so much better than me!

      Like

  1. I’m so happy you liked The Breakdown! I did too, I thought it was very well put together and I was not expecting what was actually going on! B.A. Paris is awesome, you would LOVE Behind Closed Doors! It’s awesome :). Great review love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

