Book Reviews

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

City of Bones

(The Mortal Instruments #1)

by Cassandra Clare

PBT Review #68

Click here to buy your copy from Amazon

GR 3 star

add-to-goodreads-button


I know these die hard fans of TMI are going to KILL ME for my rating of this book, but let me explain! LOL

I really enjoyed this book! The way that some of the things played out just wasn’t what I was wanting or expected and it actually made me so mad I didn’t want to read any more of the series. Thus the star rating. But I WILL be continuing on with the series, no worries. I’ve actually already bought the rest of the series except for City of Lost Souls.

Of course with my spoiler free policy I won’t be able to go into details about what I didn’t like, but feel free to DM me on Twitter and we can talk!

I also want to say that I read this book back when I was in middle school and really loved it, but I did not remember a thing about it when I picked it up this time. Thus my very violent reaction. LOL

 I really did enjoy the world building and the magic system that was in place. It was also fun to be learning about it at the same time as Clary. I also really liked that Clary didn’t drop Simon, her mundane best friend, once she found out about this new world she was supposed to be apart of.

Jace was very entertaining and I thoroughly enjoyed his snarky comments. I’m glad he was apart of the book because most of the times I laughed it was because of the things he said. At first I really disliked Alec. He just came off like a major douche bag, but by the end he definitely grew on me and I was a major wreck wondering if he was going to make it into the next book.

Isabelle seemed like she could’ve been interesting, but she wasn’t very present in the story. She did kind of come off as a stuck up princess, especially where Simon was concerned. So I’m definitely indifferent to her character. 

If you read my Goodreads progress that I alway post at the end of my reviews, you will see where I became irate with Hodge. How DARE he do what he did! I just couldn’t freaking believe what I was reading and that started my dislike of the story line. Everything from that point on what a major disappointment. I’m going to try and explain this the best way I know how without giving any details away.

Basically, the writing was wonderful. The events were captivating. The twists were nothing I would have ever expected. My problem is that EXACTLY what I didn’t want to happen, did. And I kept praying for the big reveal that none of what was happening was true. But unfortunately, it seems that it was.

I know that as I continue to read the series I’m going to be quietly hoping for this huge turn of events where Cassandra Clare is just like “SIKE GUYS, I WAS TOTALLY KIDDING! BUT I HAD YOU GOING THERE FOR A LITTLE WHILE DIDNT I?” One can hope right?

I’m currently waiting on the next book in the series to come in the mail so I can get right into the next book!


The next book in the series is City of Ashes

City of Ashes.jpg


Have you read the TMI series? Did you feel the same way I did after finishing City of Bones? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

9 thoughts on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

