Book Reviews

Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Milk and Honey

by Rupi Kaur

PBT Review #67

Click here to buy your copy from Amazon

GR 4 star

add-to-goodreads-button


Lately, I’ve been enjoying reading poetry so much! Luckily it’s also been keeping me on track with my Goodreads challenge, since they are so quick to read!

Most poetry books are such amazing reads. The only reason I gave this one 4 stars was because it didn’t speak to me on a deeper level nor was it awe inducing. I did REALLY, REALLY enjoy this book though don’t get me wrong. This book has also been very popular lately. Everywhere you look it seems to be there, which is so awesome for the poetry genre! It needs more attention!

This book is split into the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing. So I want to share some of my favorite sections or poems from each part!

The Hurting

“the therapist places
the doll in front of you

it is the size of girls
your uncles like touching

point to where his hands were

you point to the spot
between its legs the one
he fingered out of you
like a confession”

This is the first poem that broke my heart in this collection!

“every time you
tell your daughter
you yell at her
out of love
you teach her to confuse
anger with kindness
which seems like a good idea
till she grows up to
trust men who hurt her
cause they look so much
like you

to fathers with daughters

“a daughter should
not have to

beg her father
for a relationship”

The truth in these poems is astounding! I just had to share it. 

The Loving

“sometimes though
love will hurt you but

love will never mean to
love will play no games
cause love knows life
has been hard enough already”

That’s the only poem that meant anything to me in this section, which I find kind of sad since its the loving section of the book.

The Breaking

“dont mistake
salt for sugar

if he wants to 
be with you
he will
it’s that simple”

“i didn’t leave because
i stopped loving you

i left because the longer
i stayed the less
i loved myself”

“when you are broken
and he has left you

do not question
whether you were
enough
the problem was
you were so enough
he was not able to carry it”

“you treat them like they
have a heart like yours

but not everyone can be as
soft and as tender

you don’t see the 
person they are
you see the person
they have the potential to be

you give and give till
they pull everything out of you
and leave you empty”

GIRL, YAS! Yes, Yes, Yes. Go figure this section was the most relatable to me. I’m not surprised, but everything in the section was so true. Favorite section of the book. Hands down. This section is the reason I will recommend this book to people!

The Healing

“who tricked you
into believing

another person
was meant to complete you
when they most they can do is complement”

Unfortunately that’s the only poem I highlighted in this section. This also doesn’t surprise me because I, myself, have not completely healed so how I am supposed to connect with anything in this section. Which has absolutely nothing to do with Rupi or her book. However, the one thing I have learned in my healing process is that my partner shouldn’t complete me, but complement me instead!

This really is a great read and I really enjoyed reading it. I’m sure so many people can relate and connect with at least one section in this collection!


Have you read Milk and Honey? What were your thoughts about it? If not, what did you think about the poems I shared in this review? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?See a master list of my reviews?

One thought on “Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

Leave a Reply

