New Author Thursdays

New Author Thursday: Laura Elliot

Since I’m new to this wonderful world of book blogging, I’ve been hearing about a ton of authors that I’ve never heard of before. So I decided to start this weekly meme about authors that aren’t necessarily brand new authors, but new to me.

This week I want to talk to you about Laura Elliot.

Laura Elliot

Once, for a brief, illusionary spell when I was very small and fanciful, I believed I was a robin. I can’t remember why I decided on a robin rather than any of the other birds who frequented my garden. I was probably attracted by its red breast and fearless nature – or admired its celebrity status as a Christmas card icon. I visualised myself flitting in bushes, posing against a snowy background or following furrows of freshly dug earth. I was quite upset when I discussed my metamorphosis with my mother and she, gently but firmly, insisted that I was a child, not a bird. Eventually, to prove her point she placed me in front of a mirror and I was forced to confront my identity crisis. No wings, no redbreast; just a little girl gifted with a wild and weird imagination. Not that I had any understanding of imagination at the time―or had any inkling of the significance it would later play in my life.

During my school days I was constantly in trouble for ‘day-dreaming.’ That’s what my teachers called it, though there were some who believed my pensive moods stemmed from bone idleness. Without any understanding of the power of imagination, I simply took it for granted that my mind should be elsewhere while my body remained trapped in a school desk. Such adventures. Such travels. Real life drifted over my head and my school reports bore witness to this fact. Nothing imaginary lurking there.

Throughout my childhood I was an avid reader. I kept a torch hidden under my pillow. After lights out, I burrowed under the blankets, filled with an insatiable desire to reach the last page. In that warm, cocooned space I read until my eyes – or the torch battery – gave out. In school I was the square peg in the round hole. Those were the days when corporal punishment silenced many a rebellious squeak and, like Oliver, I constantly seemed to have my hands out for more. I have no memory of excelling in any subject yet when I meet friends from those days they remind me that I used to read my poems and essays to the class. Why can’t I remember those moments? The way I remember being a robin or, as I grew older, the imaginary ships I sailed, the magical lands I visited? Rulers, straps and canes failed to stop my ‘day-dreaming’ and my teachers despaired, convinced I would never amount to anything other than a wide-eyed-gazer-into-space.

They were right. I became a writer.

It didn’t happen immediately. The route to my career as a novelist was circuitous, via motherhood and a career in journalism. The latter began when I submitted short, humorous features to a generous and helpful newspaper editor. These were reflections of my life – and the lives of those around me―seen through that same gaze of curiosity and wonder. I did attempt a first novel but, eventually, faced with the demands of three young children I wrapped my half-completed manuscript in a black plastic bag and placed it somewhere safe. I promised myself I would return to complete it at a more convenient time. It remains buried of the vaults of my memory. Hopefully, I will never find its hiding place. Most first novels should be allowed to die with dignity. Over the following years I wrote widely as a journalist and balanced the demands of parenting with deadlines and travel. I edited magazines, wrote business features, conducted interviews, crafted colour pieces … yet that dream of writing my first book remained an uneasy thorn in my side.

In the end I plucked it out by making a new year resolution. I would concentrate on writing my first novel. With some reluctance (a regular pay cheque is an insidious seducer of dreams) I gave up the frenetic and sociable world of journalism and settled into the silent room, the solitary desk and the computer.

The pleasure and escapism that reading gave me when I was a child drew me into the world of children’s fiction. Those were the first books I wrote: fantasy, adventure, gritty realism, teen lives and loves. But my characters, like my children, were growing up and reaching towards the challenges of adulthood. Once again, I made a decision to change direction and write for an adult readership.

To separate my two identities I chose to write under the name Laura Elliot for my novels The Prodigal Sister, Stolen Child (published by Avon HarperCollins) and Fragile Lies (published by Bookouture). I’m known as a children’s author under my own name – June Considine. I live with my husband, Sean, in the coastal town of Malahide, close to the wonderful Broadmeadow Estuary, which had featured in a number of my novels. Currently, I’ve just finished a new children’s book and have almost completed my next Laura Elliot novel. I’ve many plans for the future. To fulfil them all I need to do is hold onto the imagination I had when I was too young to understand its power – and was unaware that it’s not always necessary to have wings to fly. (Blurb from Author’s Website)


The Prodigal Sister

Can a black sheep ever return to the flock? Find out in this emotionally intense tale from a spellbinding new Irish talent. Accompany the Lambert sisters on their unforgettable journey — fans of Anita Shreve and Rosie Thomas will be spellbound. When 15-year-old Cathy Lambert runs away from her Dublin home, she is scared and pregnant. Settled in New Zealand with her new son Conor she believes the secret she carries will never be revealed! Rebecca Lambert was eighteen when her parents died and she took responsibility for her younger sisters. Years later, she is haunted by fears she hoped she’d conquered. Freed from family duties, mother of three Julie Chambers is determined to recapture the dreams of her youth. Married to a possessive older man, Lauren Moran embarks on a frantic love affair that threatens to destabilise her fragile world. Anxious to make peace with her three sisters, Cathy invites them to her wedding. But as the women journey together through New Zealand towards their reunion, they are forced to confront the past as the secret shared histories of the Lambert sisters are revealed.


Stolen Child

When Carla Kelly and Robert Gardner marry, they seem destined for happiness. But tragedy strikes when their two-day-old baby, Isobel, is stolen. Distraught and bewildered, they must cope with the media frenzy that follows. As hope of finding her fades, their marriage disintegrates under the strain and they divorce. Robert moves to Australia and Carla, who had been a successful model, becomes reclusive and retreats into anonymity in order to escape the glare of publicity.

Meanwhile, many miles away in a small town, Joy Dowling, miracle baby, is the adored only child of Susanne and David. Her mother is over protective and attempts to rear Joy in isolation, but as a wilful and headstrong child, Joy will not be held back and comes into conflict with her mother. Susanne Dowling has her reasons for wanting to keep Joy out of sight but some things can’t stay hidden forever.

As the years pass, hopes of finding Isobel fade, but Carla Kelly never gives up her search. Her love for her Stolen Child burns fiercely and soon, secrets long kept will be brought into the light.

Stolen Child is a love story about two families who are torn apart by deception and the consequences of a reckless act that shaped their futures.


Fragile Lies

His name is Michael Carmody. He is a writer and a father. His son is lying in a coma, fighting for his life. Her name is Lorraine Cheevers. She is an artist and mother. An illicit affair has destroyed her marriage. Michael is desperate to find the couple who left his son for dead, a victim of a hit and run. Lorraine is desperate to start a new life for her and her daughter. Michael and Lorraine are about to cross paths – damaged souls, drawn to one another. They don’t know that their lives are already connected. They don’t know the web of lies surrounding them. They are each searching for the truth. But when they find it, it could destroy them both. Fragile Lies is a gripping tale of love and betrayal, which will entice fans of Liane Moriarty, Lucie Whitehouse and Jane Shemilt’s Daughter.


 

The Betrayal

A perfect divorce. A new flame. And a deadly obsession.

Nadine and Jake Saunders were married as teens. Tied to one another by a night of passion that resulted in a pregnancy neither could turn away from.

Now, years later, their children have all flown the nest and the pact they made as teenagers – to give one another the freedom to pursue their own dreams – has resurfaced.

But freedom comes at a price …

While Nadine and Jake begin to untangle their lives from one another, Jake embarks on a passionate affair with a beautiful woman, Karin Moylan. What he doesn’t know is the dark history Karin shares with Nadine.

As lust spirals into dangerous obsession, Jake must break free from Karin. But he must also ask himself how well he ever really knew Nadine. What secret is she hiding? The truth, when it is revealed, could destroy them all.


Sleep Sister.jpg

Two childhoods destroyed.
One story they will never tell.
Until now.

Beth ran away from her family when she was a teenager. She left behind a terrible evil that took her innocence. She also left behind her sister, Sara.

When Beth returns home, she is shocked to discover her terrible secret is not just hers alone…she shares it with Sara. Under the shadow of a remote headland, the sisters make an oath they promise never to break.

Eva’s birth is a mystery that remains unsolved. Years later with her marriage in ruins, and her future uncertain, she realizes that to move forward with her life, she must first understand her past.

But while Eva is drawing closer to the truth about her roots, Beth and Sara’s lives are falling apart, crushed under the weight of the secret they carry. They must confront the past and face the darkness once more. But this time, their story will be heard.

From the bestselling author of The Betrayal, Stolen Child and Fragile Lies, comes a breathtakingly tense and emotional story of the fierce bond between sisters, and a family destroyed by a disturbing secret.


I found Laura Elliot by looking through all of Bookouture’s authors. Since I love Bookouture, I wanted to feature her and see if anyone else has read any of her books. Have you read any of her books? If so, let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

sign-off

2 thoughts on “New Author Thursday: Laura Elliot

Leave a Reply

