Book Reviews

2017 BR #24: Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

by Alicia Cook

Preorder/Buy your copy from Amazon

GR 4 star

add-to-goodreads-button


I would just like to say thank you to Netgalley and the publisher’s of Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately, Andrews McMeel Publishing, for approving me for an eARC of this book in exchange for my completely honest review.


This is the second poetry book I have read this month. I’ve been completely intrigued with this genre and I’ve been scouring every book source for more poetry books to add to my TBR. I actually ran across this on one Netgalley and I was so excited!

I’ve never read anything by Alicia Cook before (she has one other book-not poetry though). I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a super quick read and I read it within an hour or so. 

The setup/format of this book is so unique and I freaking love it! I’m pretty sure that’s part of what makes this book special. 

This book was so wonderful, but I really enjoyed Side B of the book that was the Remixes of her Tracks in Side A (blackout poetry). This was my first experience with blackout poetry and I really loved it!

The tracks on Side A definitely touched on some pretty raw and sensitive subjects which made Side B so much more enjoyable. I loved the blackout poetry, which I kept referring to as the hidden messages.

The only reason I didn’t give this book a full 5 stars was because I felt like Alicia Cook hinted at some deeper emotional issues but never elaborated on them. I think I would have like a little more detail to expand on those things. Yes, I understand it’s poetry and it’s supposed to be short. But that’s just my opinion and something that could’ve made the book a little bit better. I wanted to know exactly what made her damaged and not just hints of things that happened.

I’m pretty sure Alicia is working on book #3 and I’m so excited to see what she has in store for us next! I swear I can never get enough poetry books on my TBR and I honestly think they need to be promoted more so that authors are more willing to publish theirs!

This book releases April 11, 2017!


What did you think of my review? Do you enjoy reading poetry books? Do you have any recommendations for me if you do? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

6 thoughts on “2017 BR #24: Stuff I’ve Been Feeling Lately

  1. I have always felt poetry should be reviewed and shared more often too. One of my poetry books has done well, but I wish to do more. My hubby writes gorgeous poems too.

    Poetry should be resurrected in a big way😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel the same way. I applaud you for reviewing books and poetry. Continue to do that. It may help us poets 🙂 I recently decided to jump back into reviewing and I love the poetry I am reading online!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

