Book Reviews

2017 BR #23: The Hard Truth About Sunshine (eARC)

The Hard Truth About Sunshine

by Sawyer Bennett

Buy your copy from Amazon

GR 5 star

add-to-goodreads-button


I would just like to say thank you to Sawyer Bennett and her Danielle Sanchez at InkSlingerPR for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for my completely honest review.


I’ve only read one of Sawyer Bennett’s book previous to this one. I will admit that after reading Sugar Daddy (Sugar Bowl Series #1), I was an immediate fan. I have bought other books by her, but I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet. So when the opportunity present itself to participate in the Release Week Blitz and do a review for The Hard Truth About Sunshine, I immediately signed up. Boy am I glad I did!

This book is unlike anything Sawyer Bennett has written in the past. This book was a raw, emotional, heartbreaking read. This book touched on many tough subjects ranging from PTSD, amputees, suicide, sexual abuse, addiction, death, cancer, and disease. This book was so unique and I found myself completely captivated by the story.

The story was based around 4 main characters- Christoper, Barbara, Jillian, and Conner. Each of these characters were so well developed and felt like an individual. They all faced their different issues in life and made you feel sympathy for them regardless of the exterior facade they put on. 

We got to see everything from Christopher’s eyes, which was interesting because he generally hated himself and his life for most of the book. It wasn’t able to see the blessings he truly did have until Jillian forced him to open his eyes and see it.

Barbara was my favorite character I think. She just had so much depth and so much buried deep inside of her. I was rooting for her through the whole story.  She was very hesitant to let anyone in, but you learn why when she finally opens up and tells the others her backstory. Which is completely heart shattering.

Jillian was also very courageous in her own way. While her issues didn’t run as deep as the other characters and what she refers to in the story as “not being as significant” as the other people’s issue, I think she overcomes the most. Especially given her sunny disposition. This story definitely needed someone like Jillian in it or it would have been completely dark. She is the “sunshine” of the story.

Conner is “the kid” of the story. Everything that is done in the story is basically done for him. He was the inspiration for the actions the other characters take in the book and it was completely life changing for every single character in the story.

This is definitely a story of self discovery and the journey to loving yourself. Some make it out alive and others don’t. I won’t tell you who because I’d rather you read it for yourself. But I will warn you hear that some of the events that unfold in the end are completely heartbreaking and unexpected.

The ONLY thing that could have made this story better was having it told through alternating perspectives. I think if each character would have had chapters devoted to their point of view, we could’ve gotten a little more insight and depth into the story. I think I would’ve enjoyed that a lot.

Overall, this book was amazing and I would recommend it to everyone that enjoys contemporaries and isn’t afraid to read about sensitive subjects.


What awesome things have you heard about this book? After reading my review will you be adding it your TBR? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

2 thoughts on “2017 BR #23: The Hard Truth About Sunshine (eARC)

Leave a Reply

