Book Reviews

2017 BR #22: Blood Rose Rebellion (eARC)

Blood Rose Rebellion

by Rosalyn Eves

Buy your copy from Amazon

GR 4 star

add-to-goodreads-button


I would just like to say thank you to Netgalley and the publisher’s of BRR, Random House Children’s, for approving me for an eARC of this book in exchange for my completely honest review.


I want to start this post by saying that FANTASY IS NOT A GENRE I TYPICALLY READ. I will admit I was initially drawn to this book because of how freaking beautiful the cover is. The more I saw people getting excited about it, I figured I would request it on Netgalley. To my surprise, I was approved! And boy am I glad I was now!

I’ve seen many mixed reviews for this book over the last couple of days. Readers are either LOVING this book or HATING it. I’ve even seen where a few readers have DNF’ed this book. I am proud to say I am not among these readers and I actually thoroughly enjoyed this book.

1 point of distaste for the book was the inaccuracy surrounding the historical facts of the book. I’m no historian nor do I claim to know too much about history dating to the 1800’s, but I did enjoy the historical references regardless of how accurate they were. So if you consider yourself a history buff, this may bother you. But if you’re like me and can’t place the inconsistencies, I hope you will give this book a try!

BRR was so outside of my “comfort reading zone”. I’m not a huge fan of magic. Although lately I have found myself venturing into the genre of fantasy. That being said, I didn’t feel like this book was TOO MUCH for a non-fantasy reader

The beginning of the story was super slow and, to be honest, the only thing that kept me reading what the whole issue with Anna being Barren. The Circle and the magic itself wasn’t enough to retain my interest. Luckily Anna was interesting enough to keep me hanging on. I also had my suspicions about her issue. The story started to pick up once Anna went to Hungary wit her grandmama and from this point forward I was completely hooked on the book. 

Another thing I really liked about this story was that there was no shortage of characters. Some I found aggravating and others I fell for super quickly. I absolutely HATED Anna’s mother and sister Catherine. Maria, Anna’s mother, was seriously horrible and should go on the record books for the worst mother in history! Catherine was host as bad with all of her nonsense. I also found Matyas extremely annoying with his cockiness, but I was completely wrong about him. He won me over in the end!

I LOVED Anna (of course), Gabor, Anna’s dad, Grandmama, and Noemi from the very first time they were introduced in the book. The horrible people in Anna’s life were definitely outweighed by the awesome people, which was a nice balance.

Anna was a fiesty little thing and I loved it! She also picked the worst times to conform to the views of society, which was a little frustrating. But she got over that quickly. 

I had to put William Skala in his own category. I neither hated nor loved him. He was very persistent, but very funny at the same time. I really enjoyed reading about his and all the other revolutionary’s ideas. The whole idea behind the magic and The Binding was different and I really liked it. 

The ending completely tore my heart out because of all the death and destruction. I was not mentally prepared for that. AT ALL. I also wasn’t sure there would be a sequel to the book until I read the Epilogue, so there’s more to come for this story!

BRR also threw in some thought provoking words. This quote really made me think when I read it: “What will your world look like when you give all individuals the same rights? Can you say with certainty each person will use that power for good?” 

Blood Rose Rebellion was unlike anything I have ever read before and I’m so glad I decided to request this book. I would recommend it to everyone, even those who don’t consider themselves to be fantasy readers because it was just that good!

Blood Rose Rebellion releases March 28, 2017


Have you read BRR? If so, what were your thoughts? Do you agree with what I said in my review? If you havent read it, do you plan to read it soon or add it to your TBR? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

11 thoughts on “2017 BR #22: Blood Rose Rebellion (eARC)

Leave a Reply

