Book Reviews

The Sister by Louise Jensen

The Sister

by Louise Jensen

PBT Review #56

Buy your copy from Amazon

add-to-goodreads-button


The Sister is Louise Jensen’s debut novel. I actually read The Gift first, as I was approved for it on Netgalley. The Gift was freaking amazing and if you haven’t read it already, you totally should go buy it right now. And while you’re there you should just go ahead and buy The Sister as well! 

After reading The Gift, I just knew I needed to purchase The Sister right away. It took me a while to get around to actually reading it, but I’m so glad I finally did and I wish I would’ve read it sooner! 

The Sister is such a great book. It is definitely a thriller because I was on the edge of my seat the whole entire book. The one thing that sticks in my head from this book is that one of the MC’s in the book is freaking BONKERS

I wish I could go into detail just how crazy this character is, but that would completely give everything away. That being said, there were many MANY times throughout the book that I was thinking “this b*tch is crazy” (please excuse my language).

This book had so many plot twists that it left my head spinning, but in a good way. Just when you think you have everything figured out, Jensen throws you through another loop. To be honest, I wasn’t really prepared for any of the plot twists in this book. That in itself was completely surprising to me. 

I want to include a few triggers warnings that readers may want to be aware of before reading this book. Triggers include: alcoholism, adoption, loss of loved ones due to car accidents,  abduction, animal cruelty. Please don’t consider these to be spoilers for the book!

I also have to admit that I found the boyfriend in this story to be really suspicious. I wasn’t quite sure what was going on with him, but I didn’t trust him for some reason. My suspicions proved to be somewhat unfounded and by the end of the story I actually felt extremely bad for him. Which was actually kind of weird for me given the events of the story.

Grace, who is the primary character, really went through a lot in her life. She experienced A LOT of traumatic events. This story definitely follows her on a journey of self discovery and growth. She manages to overcome some of the worst things you can imagine and that’s why I felt it necessary to mention here. 

There was only 1 aspect of this book that I found completely infuriating in a bad way. That was the simple fact that Grace kept putting Anna above her boyfriend. We find out throughout the story just how much he has supported and gone through with Grace that I was completely dumbfounded with Graces actions. I seriously wanted to punch her in the face a few times and scream “GIRL IF YOU DON’T GET YOUR LIFE TOGETHER!”

Louise Jensen did a great job of making these characters multidimensional and very believable. She did an exceptional job with weaving together the intricate details of each character and their back stories. You can definitely tell that she is a master crafts(wo)man when it comes to her story telling because she had me completely intrigued from page #1.

I CANNOT wait to see what Louise Jensen has in store for us in book 3!


Have you read The Sister yet? If so, what did you think? Did you feel the same way about some of this things as I did? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

Leave a Reply

