Wish List Wednesday

Wish List Wednesday: Paris and Eugenides

Wish List Wednesday is brought to you by Pen to Paper.

For this weekly meme I’ll be discussing with you 1 or 2 books that are currently on my wish list.

This week I’ll be talking about Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris and The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides.


Behind Closed Doors

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace: he has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You’d like to get to know Grace better. But it’s difficult, because you realize Jack and Grace are never apart. Some might call this true love.

Picture this: a dinner party at their perfect home, the conversation and wine flowing. They appear to be in their element while entertaining. And Grace’s friends are eager to reciprocate with lunch the following week. Grace wants to go, but knows she never will. Her friends call—so why doesn’t Grace ever answer the phone? And how can she cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim?

And why are there bars on one of the bedroom windows?

The perfect marriage? Or the perfect lie?


So I was actually introduced to this book by my friend Jill (who is also supposed to send me a copy of this book to read LOL). She raves about how wonderful it is. I decided to add it to my wish list and keep an eye out for when the prices drops. That is unless it wins my poll. If it does, I’ll purchase it to read in April. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and I cant wait to read it!


The Virgin Suicides

The haunting, humorous and tender story of the brief lives of the five entrancing Lisbon sisters, The Virgin Suicides, now a major film, is Jeffrey Eugenides’s classic debut novel.

The shocking thing about the girls was how nearly normal they seemed when their mother let them out for the one and only date of their lives. Twenty years on, their enigmatic personalities are embalmed in the memories of the boys who worshipped them and who now recall their shared adolescence: the brassiere draped over a crucifix belonging to the promiscuous Lux; the sisters’ breathtaking appearance on the night of the dance; and the sultry, sleepy street across which they watched a family disintegrate and fragile lives disappear.


I first heard about this book way back when I was first in high school. I kept looking for it at my public library and they never had it at the location I went to and it was never available to be transferred there. I actually forgot about it until recently and was so happy I remembered it because I would still love to read it! So I’ve added it to my wish list and it’s also on my April TBR Poll. So please make sure you check it out and vote!


What do you think of my picks for this week? Have you read either one of these books? If so, what were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

2 thoughts on “Wish List Wednesday: Paris and Eugenides

Leave a Reply

