Book Reviews

2017 BR #18: How To Mend A Broken Heart (eARC)

How To Mend A Broken Heart

by Anna Mansell

Buy your copy from Amazon here

3-5-stars

add-to-goodreads-button


thanks-to-ballentine-books

OMG, this took me WAY TOO LONG to get up and I am so sorry for that! This book came out on March 1st and I finished reading it on March 5th. Here we are as March 15th and I’m just now getting it up. There are many reasons for that, which I won’t get into now. But trust me when I say it has absolutely nothing to do with the book and everything to do with my personal life.

So now that I went off on that tiny rant. Let’s get into the reviewing part of the book, which is why you came right? LOL

I must admit, I was a bit skeptical about even requesting this book. The title itself was enough to scare me because in my personal life I am still recovering from a bad relationship/break-up. I finally talked myself into requesting it and was approved. I will also admit, I had a ton of expectations for this book before I ever opened it as well. 

That being said, I was pleased and disappointed all at the same time. I really enjoyed the book and the path it took. I was slightly disappointed by it because I think I wanted something more from it. I wanted it ‘to mend (my) broken heart’ and it didn’t do that.. Unrealistic expectation? Probably, but it was still what I wanted. I was hoping for some magical insight. That is not what you get here and that is completely ok.

This book had so much potential to be extremely heavy. It dealt with extremely sensitive subjects such as abandonment, adoption, suicide, reuniting with birth parents, secrets, and so much more. While it had all this potential, Anna Mansell didn’t choose to go down that path. This read was so much lighter than I was expecting and the subject matter at hand. However, it was still captivating and kept me turning page after page.

Of course I’m trying not to give too many details away. But I was so aggravated with Rhys. He was this grown man that acted like a HUGE BABY in almost every aspect of his life. He was annoying and I just wanted him to grow up.

I was extremely thankful for Kat in this story because she was the one I could most relate to. She had just gotten out of a really long relationship that was going absolutely no where and was trying to figure out where her life was going from there. I definitely feel like I’m in her shoes. So I was really hoping she got a happy ending. I won’t say whether or not act actually happened…

I gave this book 3.5 stars, as you can see from my rating explanations, that means I enjoyed the book but it didn’t seem to drive home a point. That was completely true about this book. It didn’t seem to drive home any type of point or even show the readers what she thought the answers were to her own questions. Let me explain.

One of the major premises in this book was about what makes people choose to OPT OUT OF LIFE. Whether that be physically or emotionally. I found that completely intriguing. I don’t have an answer formulated in my head either, but I was hoping that Anna Mansell would at least present what she thought the answer was. 

The more I think about it, maybe it was better she didn’t. Because to be honest, we will never know why people choose to opt out of life. The answer could be different for different people. I just feel like more could have been done that what was done in this book.

I would still recommend this book to people who don’t have triggers related to any of these topics. It was a good read and I definitely look forward to Anna Mansell’s next book because this was a great one for her debut!


Have you read this book? Do you plan to? What did you think of my review? Let me know in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

Follow me on Twitter?

See a master list of my reviews?

2 thoughts on “2017 BR #18: How To Mend A Broken Heart (eARC)

Leave a Reply

