Book Reviews

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Princess Saves Herself in This One

by Amanda Lovelace

PBT Review #52

Buy your copy from Amazon here


So I originally picked up this book because I wanted to start reading AT LEAST 1 poetry book a month. I had heard SO MUCH about this one and decided to just go ahead and buy this one, despite the price for the kindle book. 

Since this is a review for a poem book, which are typically really short, I’m going to share some of my favorite poems from this book. I hope you enjoy and it encourages you to read this book for yourself.

I enjoyed this book so much that I could not stop reading it. Some of the poems really spoke to me on a deeper level. All of the book was super raw and really dug deep into some of Amanda’s life experiences. 

I really liked the formatting of this book. It was split into 4 different sections- the PRINCESS, the DAMSEL, the QUEEN, and YOU.

The part that spoke to me the most was definitely the damsel section. I just loved it so much. I think because I could relate to it so much. 

But the queen section, spoke to me on another level. It’s where I want to be. The opening poem was everything I needed to see.

“once upon
a time,
the princess
rose from the ashes
her dragon lovers
made of her
&
crowned
herself
the
motherfucking
queen of
herself.
how’s that for a happily ever after?

The poem that ABSOLUTELY won me over and made me love this book so much is also in the queen section and I will share it with you here.

“&
the dragon
came flying back
to the girl
(as dragons often do)

expecting to find
the damaged damsel
he left behind
so long
ago.

he was
horrified
to find the
mighty queen
standing before him.

after all,
only queens
have the power
to vanquish dragons
like him.

he dared to 
seat himself
upon the throne
she built with her own
two hands

&
tell her she
would never
be strong enough
to rule on her own.

the queen
looked right
into the dragon’s face
as she laughed
at his silly words

then
unleashed
upon him
the fire dancing
in her palms.

– sugar, spice, & fire.

This book was simply AMAZING. I don’t even have the words to describe how wonderful this book was. 

Trust me when I say I WILL be reading this book again AND I WILL be recommending it to anyone and everyone that will listen to me. 

I know Amanda is working on her second book, which the title for was just revealed yesterday. THE WITCH DOESN’T BURN IN THIS ONE. The release date is still TBA.

Also, there will be no READING PROGRESS in this post because I seriously read the book in one sitting, like 45 minutes total.


Have you read this book yet? If so, what were your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below!

4 thoughts on “The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

Leave a Reply

