Book Reviews

2017 BR #4: The Secrets of Second Wives (eARC)

the-secrets-of-second-wives

The Secrets of Second Wives

by Kerry Fisher

Buy your copy from Amazon

3-stars

add-to-goodreads-button


thanks-to-ballentine-books

As you can see from my rating, this book was just ok for me. It definitely had a lot of potential because of the subject matter, but it just never got too exciting to read. It actually took me much longer to read this book than I first anticipated. To be completely honest, I was a little disappointed in this book.

The story is told from two alternating perspectives of Maggie and Lara. Both of who are second marriages for the two Farinelli brothers.ย 

I want to note here that if domestic violence is a trigger for you, you probably want to steer clear of this book.ย Domestic violence in the form of physical, mental, and emotional manipulation and control play a MAJOR role in the story being told. Especially since control comes in many different forms.

It was extremely frustrating to read about Lara and Massimo’s marriage because it was the most unhealthy relationship. I found myself constantly aggravated with Lara because her submission towards Massimo. She was so terrified of her husband that she wouldn’t even stick up for her son. It was seriously sickening to me because it escalated so far as to put lives in danger. I could find reason behind dealing with her husband making her life miserable and controlling every aspect of her life. But when it comes to your children, that where she should have drew the line. And Lara never did that.

What makes it worse is how judgmental the Farinelli family is. The people that married into the family are constantly walking on eggshells. So it was a relief when Beryl (Maggie;s mom) would tag along and challenge everything Anna (Mom) Farinelli would say. I got most of my entertainment out of those situations.

Maggie and Nico seem to have the most genuine relationship out of all the marriages mentioned in the book. But she was constantly wishing that Nico would be more like Massimo. That was frustrating to read because she had no idea what Massimo was like behind close doors and he was a nightmare. That’s not the only thing trying to tear their marriage apart either. Nico’s daughter, Francesca, made their marriage a living hell and Nico never once tried to put his foot down.

I constantly felt bad for Sandro, Lara and Massimo’s son. Poor Sandro. He was just a 7 year-old boy having to suffer the pressures of a violent father. He was terrified of his dad and even more worried about his mother who tried to take the brunt of Massimo’s wrath.

But if you think that the domestic violence is the big time secret in the novel, boy are you wrong. The secret is a big time betrayal in the Farinelli family. One that no one will be able to recover from. Unfortunately I guessed it in the very beginning and it just took forever to prove it correct. Which I think is why I didn’t enjoy the book so much.

As the cover suggests it to be a emotionally gripping page turner, I feel obligated to weigh in on that label. Emotional, maybe. Gripping, eh not so much. Page turner, definitely not. Honestly the book was just good enough to make me want to finish the book, but gives me no motivation to lose myself in the book.


Will you be reading this book? Have you added it to your TBR? Let me know your thoughts about the book or my review in the comments below!

sign-off

Be my friend on Goodreads?

13 thoughts on “2017 BR #4: The Secrets of Second Wives (eARC)

  1. Great review!!
    I don’t think this will make it on to my tbr pile though.
    I love that you have added your reading progress down the bottom. Such a great idea ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผโ˜บ๏ธ

    Have you had any luck on Edelweiss? xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t blame you for not adding it to your TBR. It wasn’t horrible, but I’m not sure I would recommend it to others.
      Thanks! I added it to you of my posts and people seemed to really like it so I kept doing it.
      I’ve had no luck with Edelweiss! I’m still requesting though!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s really quite depressing when you come across such terrible reads. I know there are people out there who will love it. But when you read something that you just don’t enjoy it’s just the worst!

        It’s a great idea. Very unique. I love it ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿผ๐Ÿ˜Š
        I don’t know what the go is with the publishers on Edelweiss. You have an awesome blog! Steph from Teacher of YA has the same issue with them. It’s so weird.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, it definitely is the worst. Especially when your expecting so much more!
        Awe, thank you! Idk what they are looking for either. Lol but Steph does have an awesome blog! At least you’re having decent luck on their so there’s hope for us!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ugh! Kills me when that happens. It’s even worse when you can’t finish the book it’s that bad.

        You both have awesome blogs!!
        I honestly don’t know how I get books from there but I am forever grateful to the Edelweiss publisher gods!!! You could always try sacrificing 20 virgins to appease the gods? Haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

