Author Interview · Blog Tours

Blog Tour #1: Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

 

corrupting-the-blogosphere-graphic

CMBT Synopsis.png

CM Synopsis Website.png

CMBT Interview.png

1. Has publishing a novel always been something you wanted to do?

Yes, but I honestly never expected to finish a book. I started writing short stories when I was a kid and even attempted to write a serial killer book very similar to Dexter long before I had ever heard of the book series or TV show, but I never made it past the first five chapters. Over the years, I jotted down ideas and wrote poems or short stories, but they never amounted to anything until I had the idea for Divine Powers, which was my first written novel that is coming out May 9, 2017. Corrupt Me was the second novel I wrote.
2. Where did you get the idea for Corrupt Me?

I was having one of my Mafia movie binge days, switching from the movie Goodfellas to The Godfather, both of which are my favorite movies of all time, and I started to think about the relationships between both Karen and Henry in Goodfellas as well as Michael and Kay in The Godfather. Karen was strong and stood up to Henry, and I always respected her for that, where Kay backed down to Michael and let him control her and the kids until she finally had the nerve to leave him. Izzie’s character was inspired by the portrayal of Karen Hill by Lorriane Bracco in Goodfellas.

Before they get married in the movie, Karen says that she knew Henry was a bad man and it turned her on. The same thing is true of Izzie Rinaldi in Corrupt Me when she is rekindled with Luca Marchese. When it comes to The Godfather, I always wanted to write a character that reminded me of Michael Corleone, and I found that in Izzie. She’s not your typical heroine and she will do anything to protect her family just like Michael.
3. Has the book blogging community proven to be a wonderful support system for you during this time?

Yes, the book blogging community has been so welcoming and amazing over the past year. I am so glad that I have found so many friends who are willing to help with anything from WordPress tricks to promoting my books. I found my best friend and beta reader through book blogging. It has been such an amazing journey, and I am so glad that I have found love and support in this community.
4. What are some of your other favorite hobbies?

I am a diehard sports fanatic and even that is an understatement for my love of sports. I watch hockey and basketball every day they are on TV. I watch very little TV because of my sports, writing, blogging, and reading schedules.
5. Do you have another project/novel in the works right now?

Yes, I just finished Parker, a standalone hockey romance novel that is part of a new series. The Face-Off series follows three professional hockey players and their love interests who are tough as nails and face-off with their hockey hotties, hence the name of the series. So far, I have three novels planned for the series and two companion novellas.

Divine Powers, a fantasy romance novel that is part of the Divine Powers Series, is coming out May 9, 2017. I’m also working on a companion novella for Corrupt Me that will explain the Marchese and Rinaldi families criminal backgrounds more in depth and will also introduce the Irish Mob characters that you will see in the second novel of the Philly Corruption Series.
6. What is your all time favorite book and was it written by your all time favorite author?

My all time favorite book is technically a poem. The Iliad by Homer is an epic poem about war, love, and tragedy. Despite it’s descriptive scenes that are not suitable for some people and the fact it’s written in verse, which can also be off-putting to some, it’s the most beautiful story I have ever read. Some day, I would like to write a novel inspired by The Iliad. I have some notes sketched out for it, but I don’t think I’ll have time for a while.
7. If you had to be reincarnated into an animal, what animal would you choose and why?

I would want to be a lioness. They are lazy and spend most of their day sitting around, which I would not mind, if I could get away with lounging, writing books, and watching Netflix. Lions are also dominant and beautiful animals and who wouldn’t want to look like one?
8. What’s one crazy fun fact about you?

I wrote Corrupt Me because I have always secretly wanted to date a made man. I used to watch Goodfellas and think about how I would like to have a guy like Henry Hill take me through the back door of the Copacabana and wine and dine me like he did with Karen. Also, Goodfellas is based on a true story. There’s something sort of thrilling about that lifestyle, which is also why I chose to write Corrupt Me.
9. What would be your advice for someone that has always wanted to write a book, but think they could never do it?

All it takes is one idea to start a novel. Despite what writing magazines tell you, the idea has to come first or you will never be able to write a novel. For me, the characters usually come to me while I’m watching TV, and then the story flows as I map out the characters personalities and backgrounds in my head. I came up with the idea for Corrupt Me by asking myself, “What would I do if I had the chance to date a made man?” The answer was to find myself a Luca Marchese, and the idea for the book developed from there. I have dated guys like Luca in real life, so I know first hand that even bad boys can be tamed.
10. Do you have anything you want to tell the book blogging community?

If you’re struggling with ideas for posts, most of the time the inspiration is already there, you just need to look for it in something around you. As a book blogger and writer, I know how hard it is to come up ideas, but most of the time, those ideas are already right in front of me. If I were stuck on an idea for a new post, I would start by asking myself what things I like, are there certain genres I want to promote, or what discussion posts haven’t I read a thousand times and would like to read.

cmbt-about-the-author

 

About Jillian Quinn Bio Graphic.jpeg

sign-off

14 thoughts on “Blog Tour #1: Corrupt Me by Jillian Quinn

Leave a Reply

