2017 Challenges

Read the Books You Already Own 2017 Reading Challenge

rtbyao-2017-rc

The Rules:

I wanted this challenge to be super simple and laid back with only 1 goal in mind. That’s to read books that you have already purchased/received as gifts/exchanges/etc. 

So this is how I’ll be setting up my personal challenge. I made a list of all the books I currently own (and will update it up December 31, 2016). The books I want to tentatively mark off of this list in 2017 have been highlighted in pink. This isn’t set in stone, of course. 

Once the New  Year rolls around, I’ll be updating my Reading Challenges page and I’ll be adding the books I finish to it as the year goes along. I won’t be marking off the specific books per se. As long as I finish a book that is on this list (i.e. I owned before 2017 started) it will count towards my goal. All I really want is to achieve the goal I have set for myself.


So What is MY Goal You Ask?

I’ve decided to set my personal goal at 50 books. I definitely hope to read more than that from the list of books that I already own, being that it currently sits at 167 books! Taking into consideration that I’ll be setting my Goodreads Reading Challenge goal at 100 books, I think that setting this goal at half of that is pretty realistic!


Books I own, but have not read as of December 31, 2016

  1. The Nearness of You by Amanda Eyre Ward
  2. The Mark of Fate by Elisa S Amore
  3. Touched by Elisa S Amore
  4. Unfaithful by Elisa S Amore
  5. How To Mend A Broken Heart by Anna Mansell
  6. Calling Maggie May by Anonymous
  7. Wildest Dreams by Kristen Ashley
  8. Sugar Free by Sawyer Bennett
  9. Sugar Rush by Sawyer Bennett
  10. When I’m Gone by Emily Bleeker
  11. My Sister’s Secret by Tracy Buchanan
  12. Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine
  13. Fade Out by Rachel Caine
  14. Feast of Fools by Rachel Caine
  15. Ghost Town by Rachel Caine
  16. Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
  17. Kiss of Death by Rachel Caine
  18. Lord of Misrule by Rachel Caine
  19. Midnight Alley by Rachel Caine
  20. Paper and Fire by Rachel Caine
  21. Resisting Roots by Audrey Carlan
  22. The Selection by Kiera Cass
  23. Moon Chosen by P.C. Cast
  24. Betrayed by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
  25. Marked by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
  26. Redeemed by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast
  27. Divine by Mistake by P.C. Cast
  28. Keeper of the Light by Diane Chamberlain
  29. The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain
  30. Secret Lives by Diane Chamberlain
  31. The Shadow Wife by Diane Chamberlain
  32. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  33. A Hunger Like No Other by Kresley Cole
  34. Poison Princess by Kresley Cole
  35. The Warlord Wants Forever by Kresley Cole
  36. The Player by Claire Contreras
  37. Dreamland by Sarah Dessen
  38. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
  39. Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles
  40. The Education of Dixie Dupree by Donna Everhart
  41. Lights, Camera, Gone by Bella Forrest
  42. A King of Shadow by Bella Forrest
  43. A Shadow of Light by Bella Forrest
  44. A Blaze of Sun by Bella Forrest
  45. A Gate of Night by Bella Forrest
  46. A Break of Day by Bella Forrest
  47. Write, Edit, Kill by Bella Forrest
  48. Tru Blue by Melissa Foster
  49. Bad Little Girl by Frances Vick
  50. At Grave’s End by Jeaniene Frost
  51. Destined for an Early Grave by Jeaniene Frost
  52. Baby Proof by Emily Giffin
  53. First Comes Love by Emily Giffin
  54. Heart of the Matter by Emily Giffin
  55. Love the One You’re With by Emily Giffin
  56. The One & Only by Emily Giffin
  57. Something Blue by Emily Giffin
  58. Where We Belong by Emily Giffin
  59. Existence by Abbi Glines
  60. Fallen too Far by Abbi Glines
  61. Under the Lights by Abbi Glines
  62. Missing Pieces by Heather Gudenkauf
  63. One Breath Away by Heather Gudenkauf
  64. The Debt by Karina Halle
  65. Heat Wave by Karina Halle
  66. Smut by Karina Halle
  67. Distant Shores by Kristin Hannah
  68. Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah
  69. Fly Away by Kristin Hannah
  70. Home Front by Kristin Hannah
  71. Night Road by Kristin Hannah
  72. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  73. Summer Island by Kristin Hannah
  74. True Colors by Kristin Hannah
  75. Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah
  76. Craving by Helen Hardt
  77. For the Love of English by A.M. Hargrove
  78. The Rumor by Elin Hilderbrand
  79. Too Late by Colleen Hoover
  80. Confess by Colleen Hoover
  81. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover
  82. Never Never Part One by Colleen Hoover
  83. Collateral by Ellen Hopkins
  84. Crank by Ellen Hopkins
  85. Fallout by Ellen Hopkins
  86. Glass by Ellen Hopkins
  87. Tricks by Ellen Hopkins
  88. Harley & Rose by Carmen Jenner
  89. The Sister by Louise Jensen
  90. All My Love, Derrick by Roberta Kagan
  91. Fallen by Lauren Kate
  92. Torment by Lauren Kate
  93. The Deal by Elle Kennedy
  94. The Secrets of Second Wives by Kerry Fisher
  95. Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
  96. Memoirs Arent Fairytales: A Story of Addiction by Marni Marin
  97. Scars from a Memoir by Marni Marin
  98. Retrieval by Aly Martinez
  99. Transfer by Aly Martinez
  100. The Glittering Court by Richelle Mead
  101. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead
  102. Cinder by Marissa Meyer
  103. Beautiful Oblivion by Addison Moore
  104. Burn by Addison Moore
  105. Burning Through Gravity by Addison Moore
  106. Country Kisses by Addison Moore
  107. Elysian by Addison Moore
  108. Ephemeral by Addison Moore
  109. Expel by Addison Moore
  110. Melt with You by Addison Moore
  111. Rock Candy Kisses by Addison Moore
  112. Solitude of Passion by Addison Moore
  113. Someone for Me by Addison Moore
  114. Someone Like You by Addison Moore
  115. Someone to Love by Addison Moore
  116. Sugar Kisses by Addison Moore
  117. Toxic Part One by Addison Moore
  118. Toxic Part Two by Addison Moore
  119. Velvet Kisses by Addison Moore
  120. Vex by Addison Moore
  121. Whiskey Kisses by Addison Moore
  122. Wicked by Addison Moore 
  123. Wild Kisses by Addison Moore
  124. The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty
  125. Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty
  126. This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp
  127. Blue Moon by Alyson Noel
  128. Evermore by Alyson Noel
  129. Shadowland by Alyson Noel
  130. A Child Called It by Dave Pelzer
  131. Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult
  132. Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult
  133. Mercy by Jodi Picoult
  134. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult
  135. Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
  136. The Pact by Jodi Picoult
  137. Perfect Match by Jodi Picoult
  138. Salem Falls by Jodi Picoult
  139. Songs of the Humpback Whale by Jodi Picoult
  140. The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult
  141. The Tenth Circle by Jodi Picoult
  142. Grey Eyes by Q Ramey and B Alston
  143. Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  144. One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  145. Until November by Aurora Rose Reynolds
  146. Turned by Morgan Rice
  147. Addicted to You by Krista and Becca Ritchie
  148. Brokenhearted by Elisa S Amore
  149. The Shadow of Fate by Elisa S Amore
  150. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
  151. The Perfectionists by Sara Shepard
  152. Flawless by Sara Shepard
  153. Perfect by Sara Shepard
  154. Unbelievable by Sara Shepard
  155. Wicked by Sara Shepard
  156. Killer by Sara Shepard
  157. Forty-Four book 4 by Jools Sinclair
  158. Forty-Four book 5 by Jools Sinclair
  159. Forty-Four book 6 by Jools Sinclair
  160. Forty-Four book 7 by Jools Sinclair
  161. Forty-Four book 8 by Jools Sinclair
  162. Forty-Four book 9 by Jools Sinclair
  163. Forty-Four book 10 by Jools Sinclair
  164. Forty-Four book 11 by Jools Sinclair
  165. Forty-Four book 12 by Jools Sinclair
  166. Forty-Four book 13 by Jools Sinclair
  167. The Fallen Star by Jessica Sorensen
  168. Annie’s Baby by Beatrice Sparks
  169. Treacherous Love by Beatrice Sparks
  170. At First Sight by Nicholas Sparks
  171. A Bend in the Road by Nicholas Sparks
  172. The Best of Me by Nicholas Sparks
  173. The Choice by Nicholas Sparks
  174. The Guardian by Nicholas Sparks
  175. The Last Song by Nicholas Sparks
  176. The Longest Ride by Nicholas Sparks
  177. The Lucky One by Nicholas Sparks
  178. Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks
  179. Nights in Rodanthe by Nicholas Sparks
  180. The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
  181. The Rescue by Nicholas Sparks
  182. Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks
  183. See Me by Nicholas Sparks
  184. A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks
  185. The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks
  186. Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz
  187. The Substitute by Denise Grover Swank
  188. Twenty-Eight and a Half Wishes by Denise Grover Swank
  189. Burn by E.L. Todd
  190. Charge by E.L. Todd
  191. Combust by E.L. Todd
  192. Spark by E.L. Todd

50/192


Important Side Note:

I’m sure you all have noticed I’ve only picked out 47 books from my list. I know I said my goal was going to be 50. I’m leaving some room for these wonderful Christmas gifts and buys before I finish off the list! So like I said earlier I will keep updating this post until December 31, 2016.


Please feel free to tell me your thoughts about this challenge and join in if you would like. (of course there won’t be any official sign-ups or anything, but feel free to do a participation post and format it however you like)

To be honest, I’m super excited for it. I was going to participate in the Beat The Backlist Challenge, but I just felt it wasn’t exactly what I was trying to accomplish with the reading challenge I was looking for. Thus, this was born. 

sign-off

36 thoughts on “Read the Books You Already Own 2017 Reading Challenge

  1. Oh jeez. Remember how I told you I had like 1200 unread Kindle books?… Welp. I was wrong. Looking at my Amazon under the Manage Content thingy… I have exactly 1941 books (not counting the docs section with eARCs). According to GR, I have only read 122 of them. You don’t even want to see my list! Hahahahaha!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. lol I was scared too. But then I was told 167 books was bad at all so I feel better now. Lol
      I’ve only read 1 book by Emily Giffin. I read Something Borrowed and I really did love it. But I really struggled with it because that book was literally my life. Except I was Darcy. So it triggered some feelings for me. But it was so good I felt guilt for trying not to like it. Lol if that makes sense.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. lol it’s definitely intimidating but I just can’t convince myself to keep buying more and more and books and not reading ones I’ve already had. If that makes sense. I decided to do this challenge to force me to not forget about the books I’ve already bought lol
      Of course! Baby steps is the only way to go! I know I’ll never finish my TBR pile. It grows faster than I can knock books off of it. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can definitely understand why a challenge like this one would be an awesome way to knock books off your TBR list. Maybe I could do a mini version of it or something? Or incorporate my TBR pile into another challenge? Hmm. We’ll see… the TBR pile definitely needs to shrink somehow though. Sigh.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. For sure. I just set my goal at 50 books for the ones I own as of December 31, 2016. But you could set your goal at 5 if you wanted.
        I could do the TBR Challenges because my TBR is so mugs larger than the books I actually own. I wanted to restrict it to the ones I already have. If that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an awesome idea for a challenge. Looks like you got a lot of reading done too. I don’t think I have enough self control not to get new books because they’re just so precious!! Good luck on your challenge!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great idea! I wanted to do something similar to this next year also, seeing as I have a large number of books on my shelves that I haven’t read yet! You have a very long list to get through! Good luck
    Kim @ booksarelove

    Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG! THAT’S A LOT of unread books! Hahaha! Anyways I absolutely fell in love with Picoult’s My sisters keeper. It was utterly gut wrenching but will definitely keep you gripped till the very END!! Btw loved your post! I think I’ll have to come up with one myself 😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

