Book Reviews

2016 BR #33: Losing London

losing-london

Losing London

by Joey Jones

Buy your copy here

5-stars

add-to-goodreads-button


 Losing London is Joey Jones’ second book. I had the pleasure of receiving a free copy of his first book A Bridge Apart and offering some of my constructive criticism. This was before I ever thought about starting my blog, but you can see the review I left on Goodreads here.

A Bridge Apart was so good for a debut novel, that I had NO DOUBTS his second book would be anything less than amazing. What I was not expecting was the PURE PERFECTION that was Losing London. Now I’m sitting here thinking to myself “How in the world is he going to top this?” Although, I have no doubts that he will. I’m already anxiously awaiting his 3rd novel and don’t even know if he’s starting writing it yet.

One more side note first. I seriously love that Jones is a Southern author and he has Southern phrases thrown into his stories. In this one he used the saying HAUL BOOGIE and I swear to you I have never seen that phrase in a book before. I LOVED IT!

Now on to the nitty gritty details.

When I first began reading this story and realized exactly who London was in relation to the other characters in the book, it was not what I was expecting and that left me completely confused about where Jones was going with it. I should have never doubted him for a second. PURE GENIUS that Joey Jones is!

I was completely captivated by absolutely everything in the book. I’m not even exaggerating here. 

I want to start by talking about Mitch. This man is completely swoon worthy, but I was uneasy about him in the beginning. He completely won me over in the scene where he is sitting outside, playing his guitar, and singing one of the most heart felt songs ever. 

I dont wanna close my eyes. I don’t wanna fall asleep cuz I’ll miss ya baby and I don’t wanna miss a thing!

Oh Mitch! *swoon*

Mitch is seriously an amazing man. Him adopting Hannah, just says everything you need to know about him. Add that to the fact that he is GOALS for the man you would choose to spend the rest of your life with and you have the most EPIC SWOON WORTHY MAN EVER!

Ok, enough about how amazing Mitch is.

Harper aka Addison (depending on where you are in the story) is the female main in this story and I feel a very special connection to her. As her situation turns out to be something I have experienced also, I cant help but sympathize with her. What won me over to her was the fact that we both let a man change the simple things about us without ever realizing they were doing. For instance, Harper’s husband controlled even the smallest things about her. She wasn’t even allowed to drink the rest of the milk left in the bowl after eating cereal because her husband didn’t like it. And that’s just one example. It’s so easy to lose yourself in this way and I know first hand.

Harper does prove to  be frustrating at times. Especially when she realizes the truth and refuses to let Mitch know who she is to London. So of course I was patiently awaiting the fall out from this secret. But I never expected it to happen the way it did. The fallout between Harper and Mitch was completely heart shattering and I wasn’t quit sure how I would recover from it. I was literally screaming at the book at this point because I wanted to know when people (Harper) would learn that lies are the worst possible thing in a budding relationship. But it seems to be an ever present theme in romance novels. I mean, honestly people! Goodness, its not that hard! 

Harper also broke my heart when she said that a girl is LUCKY to find a man like Mitch after the age of 25.  That means my time is running out! Oh Romeo (Mitch) where are you?! LOL

A year after London’s passing, Harper receives a book that London had written. It was the story of her last memories before her death. Harper spends time reading through these memories, but the last chapter of London’s book literally brought me to tears. All I could think was that what it revealed couldn’t be true! It just couldn’t.

Another very important character in this story is Hannah. I did mention her briefly above, but now is her time to shine! The things this child says either crack me up or breaks my heart (as children seem to do). She is so pure and innocent. Just to give you an idea of how attached I became to her, these are some of the things that melted my heart, for good or for bad.

Would it make you mad if I told you I cry because you have to sleep alone

Awe! When I get a new mommy, I’ll let her sleep with you

Kids seriously do say the darnedest things!

BOMBS. BOMBS. BOMBS. 

That sums up this whole book in 1 word (well 3 because I didn’t feel like saying it once would suffice).

First bomb, I wanted to cry from pure happiness!

Second bomb, I was like “OH NO, NOT AGAIN!” because I know the feeling that Harper was going through.

Third bomb, I was back to wanting to cry from pure happiness! At this point I was getting all the mushy gushy feels and I just KNEW this was going to have the perfect ending. I was stupidly grinning as I was reading how everything was unfolding. BOY WAS I FOOLED! This feeling was ruined in all of .6 milliseconds!

Just when I thought Jones was done with the bombs, he dropped about 6 more! (almost literally)

AND I spent the last 10 minutes of the book ugly crying into my iPad. Tears were literally streaming down my face as I was screaming at the book.

This is one of the BEST books I have read all year! You are not going to want to miss out on this! I promise!


Have you read any of Joey Jones’ books? If not, have I convinced you to at least read this one? Because you totally should!

sign-off

 My reading progress update completely freaking out in the end. But the first marked as read is when I finished the book. 🙂

Be my friend on Goodreads?

8 thoughts on “2016 BR #33: Losing London

  1. Wow, you hit all the nails on the head! I just finished reading Losing London and felt many of the things you did. Fabulous story line, twists and turns that were unexpected…love and heartbreak, laughter and joy, serious pain and anguish, and a whole lot more… I too read A Bridge Apart and waited for Number 2, just to see how it would be, then to read it was more and better, WOW… Come on Number 3 from our home town class act novelist…JOEY JONES. Can you top this???

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

