Book Reviews

2016 BR #30: The Gift (eARC)

the-gift

The Gift

by Louise Jensen

Preorder your copy from Amazon

5-stars


*I received a copy of this book from Bookouture on Netgalley in exchange for my completely honest review*

I want to start by stressing how absolutely wonderful this book is! I gave it 5 stars without thinking twice because it was just that good. I binge read more than half of the book in one sitting! I just couldn’t put it down. I stayed up until 2AM finishing this book! Absolutely wonderful.

After reading the prologue I was so utterly confused and captivated at the same time. The way she opened the story just left you NEEDING more! What is this person running from?

We find out immediately that the main character (Jenna) attends therapy, is on medications, has mood swings, is paranoid, and has recently had a heart transplant. All very, very important details in the story.

There were a few very MEAGER things I didn’t like in this story. One was the reoccurring theme (in many many books, not just this one) of making decisions for other people in regard to whether or not they deserve to be with another person for this or that reason. I just don’t understand why significant others cant let their partner choose for themselves whether or not they want to stay in a relationship, instead of pushing/forcing them away with no say at all.

The ONLY other thing I wasn’t quite pleased with in the story was that I NEVER got the sense that Jenna was 30 years old. Nothing about her seemed like she was that age. I got more of the sense that she was so much younger. At the oldest she came off as 24 (my age).

Prepare for PLOT TWIST after PLOT TWIST after PLOT TWIST while reading this book. When you think you have everything figured out… you don’t. 

I LOVE the idea that the story is based around. A heart transplant and Cellular Memory. It wasn’t what the story was focused on, but it was at the very foundation of the story itself. I found it very interesting and something I can definitely believe in. 

Now I’m going to take a minute to talk about Sam. He’s the only character I will talk about in any detail because I felt an enormous amount of sympathy towards him. He is the most loyal and kind hearted man ever. I feel bad for him because Jenna cuts him off completely after the ordeal they go through, but then he’s always the one she leans on in her time of need (which is often). Needless to say, he’s ALWAYS there for her. Such a wonderful man. And what a life saver he turns out to be. 

In the end when we finally learn about and hear from Sophie, it is completely shocking. Thus one of the many plot twists. Revealing Sophie was a very anticipated aspect of the story, but I never would have guessed that she played the role she did.

However, the ending left me all smiley and happy. Even though it wasn’t the ideal ending, I have to credit Louise Jensen for how BEAUTIFULLY she was able to tie everything together.

How the prologue ties into the end of the story is done fantastically and it was nothing like I was expecting. Not that I was expecting much because the prologue left me so confused.lol So maybe expecting isn’t the best word. It wasn’t like anything I would have been able to guess.

How the families tie in together is beautifully done. I have so much praise for Louise Jensen because this book was truly a MASTERPIECE.

My only caveat for this book is: be careful of jumping to conclusions in this story because NOTHING is as it seems. 🙂


The Gift releases December 16, 2016 and you should go preorder it RIGHT NOW!

sign-off

11 thoughts on “2016 BR #30: The Gift (eARC)

  1. Great review! 🙂 I understand what you mean about Jenna’s age but I know my decisions and thoughts don’t often reflect how old I really am, that is probably why it did not bother me. I really enjoyed the ending, I felt it was perfect and so right for Jenna.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

