Questions

Question: Blog Images

So blogger friends, I have a question for every one of you and I really hope you will take the time to answer.

The more and more of you that I follow, I see some amazing blog images. For example so of you do it for your review posts and use the pictures for the featured image (Amy @ Novelgossip). Some of you use them as your name/signature at the end of your posts (Flavia @ Flavia The Bibliophile Blog). Or everything on Michelle @ Book Adventures blog.

Ok, so now that you all have some examples of what I’m talking about. I was wondering if you wouldn’t mind sharing how exactly you do that? What programs do you use? Any other details you wouldn’t mind sharing.

The main reason I ask is because I want to get away from using google images for everything. Even if I add text over it. I feel like I’m using someone else’s work without their permission. 

Any  help you could provide would be very, very appreciated!

Thanks in advance friends!

 sign-off

30 thoughts on “Question: Blog Images

  1. I use canva.com, for the designing bit, for I am no guru and it’s pretty awesome. You can either make your own designs, manipulate someone’s template till it yours etc. and pixabay.com, to look for free images. Hope this help!

    Liked by 4 people

      1. A lot of people like finding free image elements on freepik and it’s awesome most of them are in png format, or should I say transparent. There you can find feathers, water colours, pastels etc.

        Liked by 3 people

  2. I use a website called Canva (www.canva.com) for my pictures. Lots of it is free, but you will come across some that aren’t. So be careful of that. Canva lets you use specific already made layouts, or you can create your own. Check it out and see what you think.

    Another one I know a lot of people use is Pic Monkey (www.picmonkey.com). It’s basically the same thing as Canva. Hope this helps!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I agree with what everyone else said. For my blog and author website, I bought the rights to the images so I wouldn’t have any copyright issues. Most bloggers do. It do that so don’t worry you don’t need to. The header with the lips on my author site came from Shutterstock where I purchased the license and then used Canva to make my own logo. For my blog, I originally had a combination of two pics I bought on Shutterstock and merged them together before I decided to pay my cover designer to make the scrabble tiles logo you see on my blog today. I don’t think you need to pay for good quality images though. You can go to a site like pixabay where you can download the images for free and then use picmonkey and Canva to edit and create logos and headers. The blog posts header on Canva fits WP perfectly so you’ll see everything properly in your WP reader. The same goes for the Twitter headers and other social media templates on the site. I use them for everything blog and book related. Just make sure when you download the images from pixabay that you’re using 300 dpi resolution or the images will become pixelated and look blurry when stretched. If you ever have any blog related questions, you can always DM me on Twitter. I don’t mind helping. I hope this helps. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. HI Payton!

    Check out my Blogging Resources page: https://thegeekybibliophile.wordpress.com/blogging-resources/

    I have several sites listed that I use for photos, etc. along with other useful information. It’s much safer to use either images you’ve purchased the license for, and images with CC0 licenses because the most popular images that you find on a google image search are likely copyrighted images and you DON’T want to use those.

    As far as editing goes, I like to use Canva sometimes, but I tend to use the paint.net photo program so I can work on images offline. It’s like the Paint program on your PC, but much better because you can do a lot more with it. You can download it for free (just google “paint.net” to find it.)

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I have been curious about this too! Paint on my computer just doesn’t cut it for me and using pictures from google can be a little dodge :/
      Thanks for making a post about this!!

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I usually use photoshop to create or add any features to the image. It’s fairly simple to use once you get a hang of it and there are unlimited options of brushes, vectors and png images that you can use / mix together / change colours and so on.

    The only downside is that you’d need to purchase Photoshop. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love Canva! I used one of the pictures I took for my bookstagram and created my header image with Canva! But I will have to check out some of the websites for images… I’m always looking to spice my blog up a bit! Thank you for posting about this 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Aaaw, thanks so much for mentioning me 🌸 I mostly just use Canva (I think that’s what most bloggers use). It’s easy to get the hang of and it’s free. I looked up what the ideal size of image would be for my blog theme (you can just google the specs of the theme you’re using) and that way I ensure that all my images are the right size. Also I played around a LOT with fonts and designs. Explore a little and you’ll find the right fit for you. I hope this helps a little bit 🌸😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

