Book Reviews

Once She Dreamed Part One by Abbi Glines

once-she-dreamed

Once She Dreamed

(Part One)

by Abbi Glines

PBT Review #21

Buy your copy from Amazon

4-5-stars


This is the first book I’ve ever read by Abbi Glines and it did not disappoint. Even though it was a short quick read, as it was intended to be, I really really enjoyed it. I can’t wait for Part Two to be released so I can see how Sammy Jo makes her way in this new world. I have no doubt she will find her way and flourish! It’s just in her nature.

That being said, Sammy Jo is an extremely likable character. She is beautiful and she doesn’t even know it. She comes off as your typical sweet Southern Belle which I really like about her. Her drive to leave her small town is amazing. I’m not sure I would have the courage to leave Small Town USA for a big city, but she did it! However, I do worry about her because she’s so young and naive. I’m concerned she will get taken advantage of, in every way possible, especially by her new “boss”.

This is a good place to talk about the special connection I feel to Sammy Jo. I feel like we are very similar, even though my situation is on a much smaller scale. I’m from a small town also. Just like Sammy Jo, after I graduated high school I would look around and try to figure out why everyone was rushing into having kids and getting married when they were so young! I also had bigger dreams than that lifestyle and moved to a bigger city. So in that sense, she is completely relatable. 

Hale Jude. What is there to say about him? The “cupcake man” surely piqued my interest throughout the beginning of the story. In the middle of the book, I found his intentions quite strange. Only to find out in the end it wasn’t what it seemed. Needless to say, I’m extremely weary of him. He comes off as extremely wishy washy. He tried to make himself and his intentions crystal clear (according to him), but honestly they come off super murky.

My biggest worry with Hale, where it concerns Sammy Jo, is that he is going to ruin her innocence and view of the world. I hope it doesn’t turn out like I’m expecting though.

Come on Abbi Glines! I’m ready for the next part to come out already!


Have you read this short story yet? Would you read it after seeing this review? Have you read anything by Abbi Glines before? If so, what did you think? Let me know in the comments!

sign-off

One thought on “Once She Dreamed Part One by Abbi Glines

Leave a Reply

