Fun Fact Friday

Fun Fact Friday #11

This week’s FFF is about what I wanted to be when I grew up. Ever since I was a little girl I knew I wanted to be a doctor. When I got to high school, I started watching the tv show House, M.D. and he inspired me to become a Diagnostician. Once I realized this wasn’t really a job title, I began thinking about doing something with the brain. A Neurosurgeon to be exact.

When I started college I saw a lot of courses that had to do with neurology and that was really interesting to me. I actually toyed with the idea of doing a minor in neuroscience. I was all set to go down this path. I was studying to get my Bachelors of Science in Public Health and minor in Neuroscience. I was on the pre-med track to take all the courses I would need to get into medical school.

Then my junior year of college came around and everything changed. I lost my confidence and felt like I wasn’t smart enough to get accepted into med school because I didn’t think my grades were high enough.

So I changed my path to go to nursing school. That’s the next best thing to being a doctor right? I decided I was going to finish my BS in Public Health and go to MUSC to get my Bachelors of Science in Nursing.

I overcame many obstacles before I realized that nursing school wasn’t in the cards for me. It was very upsetting for a really long time. I was so disappointed in my life and extremely depressed. I let myself down and felt like I let my family down.

I know I am capable of reaching that goal even still, but at this point I just feel like that’s not in the cards for me. Even though I know I would be great at it. 

What did you want to be when you grew up?

house

10 thoughts on “Fun Fact Friday #11

Leave a Reply

