Book Reviews

2016 BR #17: The Scent of Salt & Sand

Scent of Salt

The Scent of Salt & Sand

(Escaped Novella #2.5)

by Kristin & P.C. Cast

Buy your copy from Amazon

3-stars


As much as it pains me to do this officially, I feel like this novella only deserves 3 stars. Not that it was a bad read. It was very, very interesting. But when you think about it in the perspective of being #2.5 in a series, you’d think that it would have something to do with what’s going on in the other 2 books or provide a little more information. This did none of that.

I was hoping to get my fill of the escaped series to hold me over until the third book comes out. This did not do that. Unfortunately.

That being said,  it was different than I was expecting  because it was  literally a completely separate story. Which is fine I was just under a different impression I guess. And expectations can definitely sway your opinion.

The book was still good and a quick, easy read. Which is exactly what I needed at the time. The ending was like the worst possible scenario. Trying to avoid something and it happens anyways. So that was kind of a let down.

The most disappointing thing though, in my opinion, is that it didn’t seem like there was much of a point to the novella. It ended and I was just kind of like ok…

ok

Please excuse the language, but really.

I want to point on the positives here because it really was a good book. Where the title comes from is beautiful. The cover is beautiful. The writing is beautiful. I guess I just wanted something more. The best words I can find for it. I’m not exactly sure what that MORE would have been, but I needed that to feel better about the novella.


Have you read this novella by Kristin Cast? If so, have you read the first two books before reading this? Did you read it as a stand-a-lone? What were your thoughts! Please tell me.

sign-off

One thought on “2016 BR #17: The Scent of Salt & Sand

Leave a Reply

