New Author Thursdays

New Author Thursday: Kristin Ashley

Since I’m new to this wonderful world of book blogging, I’ve been hearing about a ton of authors that I’ve never heard of before. So I decided to start this weekly meme about authors that aren’t necessarily brand new authors, but new to me.

This week I want to talk to you about Kristen Ashley

kristen-ashley

Kristen Ashley was born in Gary, Indiana, USA. She nearly killed her mother and herself making it into the world, seeing as she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck (already attempting to accessorise and she hadn’t taken her first breath!).

Kristen grew up in Brownsburg, Indiana but has lived in Denver, Colorado and the West Country of England. Thus she has been blessed to have friends and family around the globe. Her posse is loopy (to say the least) but loopy is good when you want to write.

Kristen was raised in a house with a large and multi-generational family. They lived on a very small farm in a small town in the heartland and existed amongst the strains of Glenn Miller, The Everly Brothers, REO Speedwagon and Whitesnake (and the wardrobes that matched).

Needless to say, growing up in a house full of music, clothes and love was a good way to grow up.

And as she keeps growing up, it keeps getting better. (Blurb from Goodreads)


Kristen Ashley is another author I stumbled upon on Twitter. But what really put her on my radar was people talking about her Fantasyland series. The only reason I haven’t started any of her books yet is because I’m not really fond of the fact that each series has something to do with another series so you never where you should start. I don’t know if its crucial to me understand the plot or what. I really  just want to read them as stand-a-lone series and if they have crossovers, then I’ll just have to miss out. But I’d like to hear from other people who has read her books before I actually make that decision!

According to Kristen Ashley, this is the order you should read each series in:

The Rock Chick Series

This series consists of 8 books and, to be honest, I’m not sure how I feel about this series. This is one I would for sure skip over if I could. That’s just my initial feelings. To note, all her these books start with an R. Which is pretty cool. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

Rock Chick Series.jpg

The Dream Man Series

This series definitely caught my attention. I’m mean who doesn’t want to read about their dream man? I’ve heard some good things about a couple of the books in this series, but other than that I haven’t seen much about Kristen Ashley as a whole. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

Dream Man Series.jpg

Chaos Series and Unfinished Hero Series

This is another series (Chaos) I’m not sure how I feel about. But they are all rated very highly on Goodreads. Who knows! Maybe I’m missing out on something. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads

chaos-series

This series (Unfinished Hero) is supposedly a little different than the other series. From what I understand it’s a little more erotic than romance. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

unfinished-hero

The ‘burg Series

This is the first series, in my opinion that looks promising. It’s one I really want to give a try. Plus, they are all rated over 4 stars on Goodreads. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

the-burg

Then you’re supposed to throw The Colorado Mountain Series in there somewhere. She doesn’t say exactly where. There’s supposed to be 8 books in this series, but there’s currently only 7. So there’s must be the final book in the works. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

Colorado Mountain.jpg

The good thing to note is that her Fantasyland Series has NO crossover characters. Which makes me feel better because the only book I have bought by her is the first book in this series. Here’s the link to the series page on Goodreads.

fantasyland


Of course she has many other series that I failed to mention in the post because I just wanted to highlight the most popular ones. I’m not 100% sure on where I stand with these series, but I know I at least want to give Fantasyland a try. 

Have any of you read any books by Kristen Ashley? If so, which ones and what did you think? Have you heard anything about these? Let me know!

As always feel free to introduce me to more authors or suggest some!

sign-off

Leave a Reply

