New Author Thursdays

New Author Thursday: Kelly Rimmer

Since I’m new to this wonderful world of book blogging, I’ve been hearing about a ton of authors that I’ve never heard of before. So I decided to start this weekly meme about authors that aren’t necessarily brand new authors, but new to me.

This week I want to talk to you about Kelly Rimmer

Kelly Rimmer.jpg

 

When my childhood friends grew out of make-believe games, I realised that I’d have to become a writer (or join the real world with them, but that seemed far too dull).
Several decades later, I live in rural Australia with my husband Daniel and our two young children, and when I’m not reading, writing, or daydreaming about reading and writing, I have one of those unfathomable IT jobs which no one outside of the industry really knows about. (Blurb from author’s website).


In honor of getting approved for my first ARC on Netgalley for this lovely ladies newest novel coming out at the end of this month, I figured I would do a New Author Thursday post featuring Kelly Rimmer.

I have never read any of Kelly Rimmer’s books until I got approved on Netgalley, but I was so blown away by A Mother’s Confession that I added her to must read authors list. That being said she only has 5 books published so far and I NEED to read the other ones like ASAP! I really hope she publishes many, many more books!

As per usual, the links take you to the books page on Goodreads! 🙂 Since there’s only 5 books, I figured I’d go ahead and give you the synopsis for each book as well! Maybe get you a little more intrigued so that you read hers books now!


Me Without You.jpg

Rating of 4.05 on Goodreads (Me Without You)

If you enjoyed Me Before You by JoJo Moyes, One Day by David Nicholls, or The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks – then make time for Kelly Rimmer’s stunning, heartbreaking new novel Me Without You.

A story of how love can break our hearts – and heal them.

A year ago I met the love of my life. For two people who didn’t believe in love at first sight, we came pretty close.

Lilah MacDonald – beautiful, opinionated, stubborn and all kinds of wonderful in ways that words could never quite capture. The woman who taught me to live again.

My Lilah, who gave me so much, and yet kept from me a secret that she knew would break my heart.

My name is Callum Roberts, and this is our story.

Me Without You is a book to make you smile, bring you to tears and remind you to hold on tightly to those you love.

The Secret Daughter.jpg

Rated 4.0 on Goodreads (The Secret Daughter)

As I saw my new-born baby’s face for the first time I tried desperately to capture her face in my mind—to stamp it onto my eyelids. As she was taken from me I knew I might never see my daughter again.

38 years later…
‘You were adopted’. Three short words and Sabina’s life fractures. There would forever be a Before those words, and an After.

Pregnant with her own child, Sabina can’t understand how a mother could abandon her daughter, or why her parents have kept the past a secret.

Determined to find the woman who gave her away, what she discovers will change everything, not just for Sabina, but for the women who have loved her all these years.

From the bestselling author of Me Without You comes another touching, beautifully told story about the pain of separation and the enduring strength of love.

When I lost you.jpg

Rated 4.03 on Goodreads (When I Lost You)

Do you ever wish you had the chance to meet someone again for the first time?

When Leo and Molly met and married, they believed they were invincible. Together they could take on the world. But Leo, a war correspondent, lives for life on the edge, and when he takes a step into the unknown, tragedy strikes and he loses his memory. Molly rushes to help him fill in the gaps and soon they start falling in love all over again.

The trouble is, Molly is hiding something. Something big. The devoted wife at Leo’s bedside is a sham; Leo and Molly’s marriage was on the rocks long before Leo’s accident.

The closer Molly gets to her husband the more scared she becomes that he will remember. As Leo’s memory begins to trickle back will Molly lose the man she loves for a second time?

An emotional, heartbreaking read that will restore your faith in the power of love.

If you like to lose yourself in Jojo Moyes or Nicholas Sparks then you will love When I Lost You, the deeply moving new novel from Kelly Rimmer.

suspended-reality

Rating of 3.68 on Goodreads (Suspended Reality)

Esther feels like her family of four has become a family of three with a live-in social work project. She is never more aware of her failure to fit in than at her eighteenth birthday party, when the guest of honour becomes the odd one out. One impulsive act of rebellion will change everything – whether or not Esther is ready to deal with the consequences.

Cheryl lives a drama-free life – and its killing her. Motherhood has been a disappointment and the days are melting into one another, one endless blur of nothingness, funded by welfare payments and a small town that seems to be shrinking in on her. Escaping the monotony is becoming a matter of life or death.

Carla is beautiful and wealthy, and ambitious to the core. She’s new in town to find a fresh start, and it doesn’t take much effort to line up a suitable job, then partner and home. The question for Carla is, can a promising future cancel out a shadowed past?

Their lives couldn’t be more different – but Esther, Cheryl and Carla will all discover that finding peace will come at a cost…someone might have to die.

a-mothers-confession

Rating of 4.71 on Goodreads (A Mother’s Confession)

Olivia and David were the perfect couple with their whole lives in front of them. When beautiful baby daughter Zoe came along, their world seemed complete.

But now David is dead and Olivia’s world is in pieces. While she is consumed with grief, her mother-in-law Ivy is also mourning the loss of her son. Both women are hiding secrets about the man they loved. Secrets that have put the family in danger.

Something was very wrong in Olivia and David’s marriage. Can Olivia and Ivy break their silence and speak the truth? A mother should protect her child, whatever the cost…shouldn’t she?

From the bestselling author of The Secret Daughter and Me Without You comes another emotionally gripping and gut-wrenching read about love, loss and the strength of a mother’s love.


If you follow my blog or read the comments at the top of the page, you know I recently read and review A Mother’s Confession. It was definitely 5 stars for me and I wish I could give it more than that. If you haven’t yet, you can check out my review here.

What books of Kelly Rimmer’s have you read? What were your thoughts?

As always, please feel free to introduce me to new authors as I am running out of ones to talk about!

Also, if you suggest author’s you want to know more about I’d be happy to put a post together for you!

sign-off

20 thoughts on “New Author Thursday: Kelly Rimmer

  1. 1. Welcome to the book blogosphere! Happy to have you here! 2. Great post! I’m intrigued now. You mentioned Nicholas Sparks who is one of my faves and I’m going to have to find out more about this author

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! I just found out yesterday his new book came out recently. It’s the first time I missed a release date for one of his books but luckily not too much later. His books are great! Oh wow that speaks well of Kelly Rimmer!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know a lot of the films fail to live up to the books. My favorite film is A Walk to Remember and favorite book is probably The Notebook that may change when I do a re-read. I haven’t read the ones you mentioned but I’m excited to. I have them all just waiting to be read. By chance have you heard of an app called Litsy?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It could be a replacement but I still have Goodreads. I do like Litsy but its still newer so it has improvements to work on. I do like how genuinely kind most people seem to be there

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

