Book Reviews

2016 BR #15: A Shade of Blood

shade of blood

A Shade of Blood

A Shade of Vampire ( ASOV book 2)

by Bella Forrest

Buy your copy from Amazon

5-stars


I began writing this review just minutes after I finished the book and my initial response was to give this book a 4 star rating. The more I thought about it, I realized I felt that way because I didn’t like the way the story started or the choices being made. To be very blunt that’s not fair. It really does deserve 5 stars because it was amazing.

This book is literally the complete opposite of the first book. Sometimes this can be taken as a bad thing and sometimes it can be taken as a good thing. Regardless, it was still highly addictive. I read it in 2 days, well probably the span of a little over 24 hours. I just couldn’t put it down! I NEEDED to know what happen next.

Ben took a 180 degree turn where it concerns Sofia. We find out his true feelings towards her, but I can’t help feeling a little suspicious. It just seems like the wrong time.  His feelings may be sincere, but in my opinion it should be too little too late. In the first book I was team Ben and Sofia, but not anymore. 

Ben’s feelings toward Sofia aren’t the only things that changed drastically. Ben’s personality is the complete opposite as well. He’s spends the whole book walking around with a huge chip on his shoulder, which I completely understand given what he went through. And we get a very vivid picture of what all Claudia put him through while in The Shade. His plan to get revenge also causes more turmoil than it should, especially given that he lays out an ultimatum.

“The darkness is coming” as it is referred to in the book is not what I was expecting it to be. And it’s probably not what you’re thinking it is either.

The Derek in this book is the complete opposite of the Derek in the first book. That simple fact makes me very, very sad. We see a side of him that isn’t so likeable and he comes very close to pushing me towards not being team Derek Novak. Almost 😉 But he starts to come back around to the Derek we saw in book 1 towards the end. We will have to wait and see if it sticks.

Derek and his twin sister Vivienne really grow on me throughout this book. They become two of my favorite characters. I really hope this isn’t the last we read of Vivienne. However, some other members of the Novak family I grow to dislike even more, such as Lucas and Gregor Novak (Derek’s father). We only get small glimpses of these two Novak’s, but none of it left a good impression.

The bombs that are dropped throughout this book literally left me with my mouth gaping open 😱. Especially the bomb at the end, on the very last page, in two simple words. I’m trying to resist diving right in to the next book just to find out more! Cliff-hangers are the best and worst thing about a book. Good thing the next book in the series is sitting in my eLibrary just waiting for me to open it up!


The next book in the series is A Castle of Sand

asov-3

Thank You and Stay Tuned!

sign-off

 

One thought on “2016 BR #15: A Shade of Blood

Leave a Reply

